Tuesday, June 18, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Today’s performers at the Bengal Classical Music Festival 2015

Update : 28 Nov 2015, 06:02 PM

Shubha Mudgal

A renowned figure of Hindustani classical music, genres including Khayal, Thumri and Dadra, Mudgal’s first traditional training was under the guidance of Pandit Ramashreya Jha.

A Padma Shri recipient, Mudgal began performing as a Hindustani classical singer since the 1980s but eventually began experimenting with other genres of music, including pop and fusion.

Karaikudi Mani

A renowned Indian percussionist who is regarded as one of the greatest mridangam players by the vast majority of Carnatic connoisseurs and aficionados. Mani became involved with Carnatic music at the age of three and parted from his vocal training in favour of learning the mridangam. Being one of the cultural ambassadors of India, Karaikudi Mani has founded a teaching institution.

Shruti Sadolikar

Born into a family known for its musical traditions, Shruti Sadolikar is an Indian classical singer of the khyal style. She received her initial training from her father, Wamanrao Sadolikar, before moving on to train under Gulubhai Jasdanwala. She performs all forms of Indian classical and semi-classical music, including thumri, tappa, and natya sangeet.

N Rajam

Considered to be one of the finest violin artists in the field of classical music, Rajam mastered the Carnatic style at a very young age and later moved on to practice the Hindustani style of music. She is known to create a divine and sublime atmosphere through her music and her innovations introduced the ‘Gayaki Ang’, a technique that mimics vocal music on the violin, into the realm of classical music – earning her global recognition as the ‘Singing Violin.’

Mukundraj Deo

Considered to be one of the India’s finest classical tabla artists of the younger generation, Deo trained under the guidance of Pandit Brijraj Mishra, disciple of Pandit Sharada Sahai of Banaras Gharana, and Pandit Mridangraj of Ajrada Gharana.

Other performers of tonight are: Warda Rihab, Wasif Dagar, Yousuf Khan, Aneesh Pradhan and Sudhir Nayak. 

Top Brokers


Popular Links