Thursday, May 30, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

PM to meet independent MPs on Sunday

  • 62 independent MPs
  • Meeting to be held at Ganabhaban 
Update : 24 Jan 2024, 11:50 PM
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has invited the newly elected members of parliament who won the 12th national parliamentary election as independent candidates.

The PM will meet with the lawmakers at her official residence Ganabhaban in the capital at 6:30pm on Sunday 

 Awami League Office Secretary Biplab Barua confirmed the media on Wednesday evening.

"Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has invited all independent MPs of the 12th national parliament to her official Ganabhaban residence at 6:30pm on Sunday," reads a text sent to MPs.

The role of independent candidates in the national parliament for the next five years, their opinions on reserved women's seats, and other important issues are likely to be discussed in the meeting.

The ruling party won 222 seats, the independents 62 seats, the Jatiya Party 11 seats, and the Bangladesh Workers' Party, the Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal, and the Bangladesh Kalyan Party won one seat each in the 12th national parliamentary election. 

Most of the independent MPs are also Awami League leaders.

Top Brokers


Popular Links