Tuesday, June 18, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

State Ministers Nasrul, Palak, Khalid and Faruk smile amid ‘storm’ 

  • Farhad, Nowfel and Faridul secure astonishing promotion
  • 13 state minister, 2 deputy ministers dropped 
  • 15 ministers dropped
Update : 11 Jan 2024, 01:06 AM

Amid massive dropouts from the incumbent cabinet, four state ministers have been able to keep their place in the new cabinet.

They are- State Minister for Energy Nasrul Hamid, State Minister for ICT Zunaid Ahmed Palak, State Minister for Shipping Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury, and State Minister for Water Resources Zahid Faruk. 

A 36-member new cabinet has been declared to run the Sheikh Hasina-led government for the next five years.

There will be 25 ministers and 11 state ministers in this cabinet.

The new cabinet led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will be sworn in at Bangabhaban in Dhaka on Thursday evening.

Meanwhile, 13 state ministers and two deputy ministers of the incumbent cabinet have dropped from the list of the new cabinet. 

State Minister for Industries Kamal Ahmed Majumder, State Minister for Youth and Sports Md Zahid Ahsan Russel, State Minister for Social Welfare Ashraf Ali Khan Khasru, State Minister of Foreign Affairs Md Shahriar Alam, State Minister for Ministry of Housing and Public Works Sharif Ahmed, State Minister for Women and Children Affairs Fazilatun Nessa Indira were also dropped from the cabinet this time.

The names in the drop list also include Deputy Minister of Environment, Forests and Climate Change Habibun Nahar and Deputy Minister for Ministry of Water Resources AKM Enamul Haque Shamim.

Before the election, when the Awami League declared the party candidates' names, three state ministers dropped out, including the State Minister for Cultural Affairs KM Khalid, the State Minister for Labor and Employment Monnujan Sufian, and the State Minister of Primary and Mass Education Zakir Hossain.

Earlier, due to some controversial remarks, State Minister for Information Dr Murad Hasan lost his portfolio.

In the 12th national parliamentary election, State Minister for Civil Aviation Mahbub Ali, State Minister for Disaster Management and Relief Md Enamur Rahman, and State Minister for Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives Swapan Bhattacharjee were defeated by independent candidates.

Fifteen ministers have been dropped from the list. 

Some of the big names were dropped from the list, including Finance Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal, Foreign Minister AK Momen, Planning Minister MA Mannan, Health Minister Zahid Maleque, and Commerce Minister Tipu Munshi.

Agriculture Minister Dr Abdur Rzzaque also dropped from the cabinet after a long time.

Three members of the previous Cabinet have been promoted as full ministers in the newly announced list of ministers and state ministers on Wednesday.

They are the State Minister for Religious Affairs Md Faridul Haque Khan, State Minister for Public Administration Farhad Hossain, and Deputy Minister for Education Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Nowfel.

Former science and technology minister Architect Yeafesh Osman and Dr Samanta Lal Sen, chief coordinator of Sheikh Hasina National Institute of Burn and Plastic Surgery, will be included in the new Cabinet Division as technocrat ministers.

Top Brokers


Popular Links