Monday, June 24, 2024


Dhaka Tribune

Chittagong 10-by-polls: 6 candidates submit nomination papers

The by-polls to the Chittagong-10 constituency will take place on July 30

Update : 04 Jul 2023, 07:53 PM

Six candidates have submitted their nomination papers for the upcoming by-election to the Chittagong-10 constituency.

The forms were submitted both online and in person to Chittagong Regional Election Officer Muhammad Hasanuzzaman by Tuesday afternoon.

The seat fell vacant following the death of the Awami League's Afsarul Ameen on June 2.

According to election officials, the list of candidates will be published after scrutiny of the nomination forms on Thursday.

Among the six, one is the ruling Awami League's Mohiuddin Bachchu, former convenor of Chittagong Jubo League. 

Others include Md Samsul Alam from the Jatiya Party, Deepak Kumar Palit representing Trinamool BNP and Rashid Mia from Bangladesh Sanskritik Muktijot. 

Additionally, Md Arman Ali and Manjurul Islam Bhuiyan submitted their nomination papers as independent candidates.

Muhammad Hasanuzzaman, the Chittagong regional election officer and returning officer, said the final candidate list will be made public after the verification process on Thursday. 

Following the submission of nomination papers, the electoral process will proceed according to the announced schedule.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is July 12, while the symbol allotment will take place on July 13.

The by-polls to the Chittagong-10 constituency will take place on July 30.

Top Brokers


Popular Links