• Friday, Sep 21, 2018
  • Last Update : 05:31 am
The people vs free speech

The people vs free speech

Luba Khalili

Thu, Sep 13 2018

When rights are erased, what happens to progress? 

Staring down the barrel

Staring down the barrel

Opinion

Thu, Aug 9 2018

The uncomfortable truth of our times is that we are living in an atmosphere of intolerance

A civil action

A civil action

Luba Khalili

Thu, Aug 2 2018

Time to take laws and lives seriously

The land between

The land between

Opinion

Thu, Jul 19 2018

What is the point of economic progress if you can’t help the Rohingya?

A most menacing medical misery

A most menacing medical misery

Luba Khalili

Fri, Jul 13 2018

We need to talk about mental illness

A shrinking space

A shrinking space

Opinion

Fri, Jul 6 2018

Differing voices cannot be met with violence every time

Scar tissue that we wish we saw

Scar tissue that we wish we saw

Opinion

Fri, Jun 29 2018

Focus on recovery, not prohibition

Reshaping Asian politics

Reshaping Asian politics

Opinion

Wed, Jun 13 2018

The SCO will play a crucial role in shaping politics in the Asian region

Expectations from the  NHRC

Expectations from the NHRC

Opinion

Fri, Jun 8 2018

What can the commission do about alleged human rights violations by law enforcement agencies?

The right way to raise a human...

The right way to raise a human...

Special Supplement

Wed, May 23 2018

There is a fundamental inadequacy in how we raise our children

'It’s more about what one’s conditioning...

'It’s more about what one’s conditioning...

Dhaka Lit Fest

Mon, Nov 27 2017

Child's rights activist and children's author Nandana Sen has had two sessions on the second day of the...

To my comrades

To my comrades

Luba Khalili

Sat, Nov 25 2017

When advancing the cause of equality, let’s not fall back on harmful stereotypes about women

What not to miss at DLF 2017

What not to miss at DLF 2017

Dhaka Lit Fest

Wed, Nov 15 2017

The first day of the festival will also see Booker Prize winning author Ben Okri talking with Sri Lankan...

'Writers never stop developing'

'Writers never stop developing'

Dhaka Lit Fest

Sat, Nov 11 2017

6 questions with Ikhtisad Ahmed

Of loss and leaps

Of loss and leaps

Dhaka Lit Fest

Tue, Nov 7 2017

'When I was writing Paperfrogs I didn’t know it at the time, but I was really suffering from depression....

Your at-a-glance guide to Nabaneeta...

Your at-a-glance guide to Nabaneeta...

Dhaka Lit Fest

Sun, Nov 5 2017

The famous Bengali author is a speaker at the DLF this year

Nandana Sen as a writer

Nandana Sen as a writer

Arts & Letters

Wed, Nov 1 2017

Nandana has gained fame in the Indian film industry both as an actor as well as a screenwriter

A dead end

A dead end

Luba Khalili

Tue, Aug 1 2017

Education to the rescue?

With friends like these

With friends like these

Luba Khalili

Tue, May 16 2017

Are we safe, even when we are with our friends?

Who is to blame?

Who is to blame?

Luba Khalili

Wed, Mar 1 2017

Every reckless driver should be held to account, not just the ones who kill prominent people

No home away from home

No home away from home

Luba Khalili

Thu, Feb 9 2017

The new Citizenship Bill is self-defeating