• Monday, Dec 06, 2021
  • Last Update : 01:15 am

Singapore removes Bangladesh from travel restriction list

  • Published at 08:20 pm October 23rd, 2021
Singapore airport
File photo: People at a viewing gallery of the Changi Airport in Singapore October 12, 2020 Reuters

Under the new rules, travellers from Bangladesh will not need an on-arrival PCR test, but have to take an exit PCR test at the end of their 10-day stay-home notice (SHN) at a dedicated facility

In a latest move related to international travel amid the Covid-19 pandemic, Singapore has decided to resume flights from and to six South Asian countries including Bangladesh from Wednesday, reports The Straits Times. 

Under the new rules, travellers from Bangladesh will no longer need to undergo an on-arrival PCR test, but have to take an exit PCR test at the end of their 10-day stay-home notice (SHN) at a dedicated facility, the Singaporean Health Ministry said on Saturday.

The 10-day SHN period is among a number of border measures, it says, adding that travellers from Bangladesh must avail a 14-day travel history to enter or transit through Singapore.

The latest move comes as Singapore continues to adjust border measures in response to the global Covid-19 situation, and it reviewed the Covid-19 situation in Bangladesh and the five South Asian countries.

Also Read - Singapore bars entry from Bangladesh, 3 more South Asian countries

During a virtual press conference by the multi-ministry task force (MTF) on Covid-19 on Saturday, Health Minister Ong Ye Kung said the situation in these countries has stabilised for some time. 

There is no longer a need for strict rules that prevent travellers from these countries from landing in Singapore, he said.

On April 30, Singaporean authorities issued a bar to entering the country, for long-term pass holders and short-term visitors who had been to Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka in the last 14 days.

Singapore classifies countries and regions into four categories based on their Covid-19 situation and risk profile, with differentiated border measures for each category. Bangladesh is now under Category IV.

Facebook 58
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail