• Saturday, Jul 31, 2021
  • Last Update : 08:25 pm

Babul Supriyo: West Bengal voters elected cruel lady back to power

  • Published at 01:05 pm May 3rd, 2021
Babul Supriyo BJP
File photo: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate from the Tollygunge assembly constituency Babul Supriyo during the election campaign for the West Bengal Legislative Assembly election 2021, in Kolkata, on April 07, 2021 AFP

The Union minister said he will neither congratulate Mamata Banerjee nor does he want to say that he respected the 'people's verdict'

Bharatiya Janata Party leader and Union minister Babul Supriyo on Sunday refused to congratulate the Trinamool Congress for its win in the West Bengal Assembly polls, reported NDTV.

In a Facebook post that he later deleted, Supriyo said he will neither congratulate TMC chief Mamata Banerjee nor does he want to say that he respects the "people's verdict.:

"...Because I think people of Bengal made a historic mistake by not giving Bharatiya Janata party a chance and by electing this Corrupt, Incapable, Dishonest government & a cruel lady back to power," Supriyo said in the Facebook post.

The BJP leader said that he will obey the decision taken by the people of a democratic country. "That's it," he added. "Nothing more, nothing less."

The Trinamool Congress won the elections by a landslide margin, winning 210 constituencies in the 294-seat Assembly. 

Also Read - Setback for Modi after loss in key India state poll

As of 9:47am on Monday, the TMC was leading in three more seats, while the BJP won 77, Election Commission data shows. Banerjee will return as a chief minister for the third consecutive term in West Bengal.

"It is the victory of the people of Bengal, the victory of democracy," the 66-year-old leader said in Kolkata. 

"Bengal has saved India today. This landslide victory came after fighting against several odds – the Centre, its machinery, its agencies. This victory has saved the humanity."

Banerjee, however, lost from Nandigram against her former close aide and BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari by a margin of 1,956 votes.

Supriyo, who contested the Tollygunge Assembly constituency, lost to Trinamool Congress candidate Aroop Biswas by a margin of 49,427 seats.

Although Supriyo refused to congratulate Banerjee on the win, many of his colleagues, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, have extended their wishes to the TMC chief.

"Congratulations to Mamata Didi for Trinamool Congress' win in West Bengal," Modi tweeted. 

"The Centre will continue to extend all possible support to the West Bengal Government to fulfil people's aspirations and also to overcome the COVID-19 pandemic."

Unions ministers such as Rajnath Singh and Nirmala Sitharaman also congratulated Banerjee.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail