• Wednesday, Mar 03, 2021
  • Last Update : 11:23 pm

West Bengal becomes fourth Indian state to pass anti-CAA resolution

  • Published at 06:54 pm January 27th, 2020
India-Mamata Banerjee
Mamata Banerjee, the chief minister of West Bengal, and her party supporters attend a protest march against the National Register of Citizens (NRC) and a new citizenship law, in Kolkata, India, December 16, 2019 Reuters

States such as Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Maharashtra and Bihar have said they will not implement the CAA or the NPR and the NCR

The eastern Indian state of West Bengal on Monday became the fourth state legislature to pass a resolution against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) amid a massive protest across the country against the controversial law and the proposed National Register of Citizens (NRC), Scroll.in reported quoting PTI.

Earlier, Kerala, Punjab and Rajasthan passed resolutions against the controversial law. While Punjab and Rajasthan are ruled by the Congress, Kerala and West Bengal have governments of Left Front and Trinamool Congress, respectively.

Speaking in the assembly as her government moved the resolution, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said, "This protest is not only of minorities but of all. I thank my Hindu brothers for leading this protest from the forefront. In Bengal, we won't allow CAA, NPR, and NRC. We will fight peacefully."

Mamata has been a strong critic of the new law and has led the protest in her state from the front.

The West Bengal Assembly had already passed a resolution against the National Population Register (NPR) on December 16 and another against the NRC in September.

States such as Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Maharashtra and Bihar have said they will not implement the CAA or the NPR and the NCR.

The CAA and the NRC were a key part of the election manifesto of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's ruling Hindu nationalist party.

The government believes the legislation is needed to protect refugees across south Asia. The CAA aims to fast-track citizenship for persecuted Hindus, Parsis, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains and Christians who arrived in India before December 31, 2014, from Muslim-majority Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan.

The Act has been widely criticised for excluding Muslims, leading to protests against it. Clashes between protesters and police leaving at least 26 dead have been a regular occurrence since December 12, when the government passed the legislation.

Tens of thousands protested in India’s financial hub of Mumbai, as well as Lucknow, the capital of populous Uttar Pradesh state which has seen the highest number of deaths since the unrest began. Both were predominantly female-led.

The NRC is a proposed nationwide exercise to identify undocumented immigrants. One such exercise, carried out in India’s northeastern state of Assam last year, resulted in the exclusion of 1.9 million people.

Facebook 61
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail