• Saturday, Jun 12, 2021
  • Last Update : 06:03 pm

PM Modi tenders resignation to President Kovind, may take oath on May 30

  • Published at 10:49 pm May 24th, 2019
Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi, left, during a meeting with President of India Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on May 24, 2019 AFP

The PM is likely to take oath of office as the head of the new government on 30 May

Prime Minister Narendra Modi tendered his resignation as per protocol to President Ram Nath Kovind on Friday after the Union Cabinet passed a resolution to dissolve the 16th Lok Sabha, reports The Statesman.

“The president accepted the resignation and requested the prime minister and the Union Council of Ministers to continue in office till the new Government is formed,” read a tweet posted from the official Twitter handle of the president.

The PM is likely to take oath of office as the head of the new government on 30 May.

Union ministers, including External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar, Railway Minister Piyush Goyal, Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari, and Women and Child Development Minister Maneka Gandhi, attended the meeting which was chaired by the PM.

The meeting was held a day after the announcement of results of the General Elections of 2019 which brought BJP-led NDA to power for a second consecutive time.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley was forced to skip the meeting due to ill health.

Following the Union Cabinet recommendation and PM’s resignation, the president will dissolve the present Lok Sabha, the term of which is ending on 3 June.

The 17th Lok Sabha has to be constituted before 3 June and the process to form a new House will be initiated when the three election commissioners meet the president in the next few days to hand over the list of newly elected members.

Counting for 542 Lok Sabha constituencies where elections were held began on Thursday. The BJP-led NDA returned to power with a thumping majority securing 351 seats. The BJP itself won 303 seats, its best performance till date.

The verdict made Prime Minister Narendra Modi only the third PM and the first BJP leader to return to power after completing a full term. He also became the first PM after Indira Gandhi to win with a clear majority.

A meeting of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will be held on 25 May, when Modi will be formally elected leader of the coalition before the President will invite him to form the next government.

Reports say that the PM might visit Varanasi on May 28 before his oath ceremony to thank the people of the parliamentary constituency from where he has been elected for the second time with a huge margin of 4,75,754 votes.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail