• Friday, Oct 02, 2020
  • Last Update : 03:40 am

Trinamool back in West Bengal

  • Published at 11:15 am May 23rd, 2019
Mamata Banerjee, Chief Minister of the state of West Bengal, gestures during a sit-in in Kolkata, India, February 5, 2019 Reuters

West Bengal is a crucial state for the elections as it sends 42 lawmakers to the Lok Sabha

Albeit a little later than the most of the country, Bengal has experienced the Modi wave. Be it because of BJP's “Look East Policy,” to vote for lotus silently — BJP has emerged as the main opposition to TMC. 

The party which won only two seats in the 2014 election was leading in 18 out of the 42 constituencies at the time of writing. TMC had won in one seat and was leading in 21 seats, most of them being in their stronghold in south Bengal.

Mamata Banerjee fought hard to preserve her territory as the BJP campaigned aggressively in 42-seat Bengal. Her Trinamool Congress is at 22, but the BJP followed closely, reports NDTV.

The BJP is heading for a landslide victory with the party alone set to cross the 300 mark on its own as leads showed a NDA sweep in the national elections.

The crucial Lok Sabha election results were set to be announced after a marathon seven-phased election. West Bengal is a crucial state as it sends 42 lawmakers to the Lok Sabha. The Mamata Banerjee-ruled state had a majority the 2014 elections with 34 wins for her party Trinamool Congress. 

Exit polls have predicted 14 seats for the BJP this time; only two from the party won last time. Mamata Banerjee, the firebrand leader of the state, has been one of the fiercest critics of the Narendra Modi government.

Bengal has been marred by violence since the beginning of the elections with Section 144 being imposed in Bhatpara on Tuesday. Bombs were flung; cars were set on fire in the North 24 Parganas district before the Election Commission imposed prohibitory orders.

Last week, a statue of Bengal reformer Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar was vandalized at BJP chief Amit Shah's rally in Kolkata. Trinamool and BJP blamed each other for the violence. A day later, the Election Commission invoked Article 324 of the Constitution to prohibit campaigning in nine constituencies of West Bengal.

Counting of votes was underway and the Election Commission said the final results would be in by late evening.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail