• Saturday, Jun 12, 2021
  • Last Update : 05:32 pm

Covid-19: Kuwait extends flight ban to Bangladesh, 30 ‘high risk’ countries

  • Published at 11:57 am August 2nd, 2020
Kuwait airport
File photo: Repatriated Kuwaitis from Amman, wearing protective face masks and suits, are seen after arriving at the Kuwait Airport, following the outbreak of the coronavirus disease (Covid-19), in Kuwait City, Kuwait April 21, 2020 Reuters

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) of Kuwait posted the list of the countries on its official Twitter account on Saturday

Kuwait has extended its ban of commercial flights to Bangladesh and 30 other countries until further notice since the Middle East nation termed the countries as "high risk" due to the spread of the coronavirus.

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) of Kuwait posted the list of the countries on its official Twitter account on Saturday.

Based on the decision of the Kuwaiti health authorities, no foreign passengers coming from the listed countries will be allowed to enter the country, it said.

Apart from Bangladesh, the other countries are India, Pakistan, Iran, China, Brazil, Colombia, Armenia, the Philippines, Syria, Spain, Singapore, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Iraq, Mexico, Indonesia, Chile, Egypt, Lebanon, Hong Kong, Italy, North Macedonia, Moldova, Panama, Peru, Serbia, Montenegro, Dominican Republic, and Kosovo. 

DGCA in its statement stated that it will allow entry of expats from 31 countries who are currently prohibited from entering Kuwait if he/she has spent 14 constitutive days in countries which are not banned. Expats coming directly or via transit from the listed countries will not be allowed to enter Kuwait, reports Arab News.

The ban was announced the same day that Kuwait began a partial resumption of commercial flights. The authorities have said Kuwait International Airport would run at about 30% capacity from Saturday, gradually increasing in coming months, reports Reuters.

The health ministry also advised against all non-essential travel at the present time, government spokesman Tariq al-Muzaram said on Twitter.

According to Kuwait Times, on July 30, DGCA listed Bangladesh, Philippines, India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Iran, and Nepal as countries from which residents are not allowed to return to Kuwait when commercial flights resumed.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail