• Friday, Sep 17, 2021
  • Last Update : 02:49 am

Authors protest Kamila Shamsie's award revocation

  • Published at 05:27 pm September 24th, 2019
Kamila Shamsie
Britain's Kamila Shamsie, one of the shortlisted authors for the Women's Prize for Fiction poses in London on June 6, 2018 AFP

The German city of Dortmund had announced earlier this month that this year's Nelly Sachs Prize would be conferred to Shamsie

Over 250 authors have protested against a German organization's move to withdraw its decision to confer an award to Pakistani-origin British author Kamila Shamsie over her support for the Boycott, Divestment, Sanctions (BDS) movement against Israel, The Guardian reports.

In an open letter published in the London Review of Books, the writers, including Arundhati Roy, Amit Chaudhuri, JM Coetzee, Sally Rooney, Noam Chomsky, William Dalrymple, Yann Martel, Jeanette Winterson and Ben Okri, have said that the Nelly Sachs prize has chosen to “punish an author for her human rights advocacy,” IAN news agency quoted the Guardian as saying in a report on Monday.

Sri Lankan-born Canadian poet and writer Michael Ondaatje, a former winner of the award, is one of the signatories to the letter.

The German city of Dortmund had announced earlier this month that this year's Nelly Sachs Prize would be conferred to Shamsie.

However, on September 18, the organizers said that the eight-member jury has reversed its decision and that the 2019 award will not be handed to Shamsie.

The organizers said that "despite prior research, the members of the jury were not aware that the author has been participating in the boycott measures against the Israeli government for its Palestinian policies since 2014."

Reacting to the move, Shamsie said that "it is a matter of great sadness to me that a jury should bow to pressure and withdraw a prize from a writer who is exercising her freedom of conscience and freedom of expression."

Last year, Shamsie won the Women's Prize for Fiction for her seventh novel, "Home Fire," which was also longlisted for the 2017 Booker Prize.

Facebook 50
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail