• Friday, Nov 22, 2019
  • Last Update : 06:34 pm

PM hands over Ekushey Padak 2015

  • Published at 06:57 am February 19th, 2015

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has bestowed the Ekushey Padak-2015 to 15 eminent persons in the nation for their contributions to their respective fields.

The Ekushey Padak award conferment was formally held at a function at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital on Thursday morning.

The Ekushey Padak recipients are Piaru Sardar for Language Movement (posthumous), Professor M Mujibur Rahman Devdas for the War of Independence, Professor Dwijen Sharma for language and literature, Muhammad Nurul Huda for language and literature, Abdur Rahman Boyati for art and culture (posthumous), SA Abul Hayat for art and culture, ATM Shamsuzzaman for art and culture, Professor MA Mannan for education, Sanat Kumar Saha for education, Abul Kalam Mohammad Zakaria for research, Kamal Lohani for journalism, Faridur Reza Sagar for mass media, Jharna Dhara Chowdhury for social service, Srimat Satyapriyo Mohathero for social service, and Professor Dr Arup Ratan Chowdhury for social service.

Each Padak (award) carries with it a cheque for Tk1 lakh, a crest, and citation.

Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor presided over the Ekushey Padak distribution function, organised by the Ministry of Cultural Affairs.

Cultural Affairs Secretary Dr Ranjit Kumar Biswas delivered the welcome address, while Cabinet Secretary Md Musharraf Hussain Bhuiyan conducted the function, and read out the citations of the Ekushey Padak recipients with a brief life sketch as well.

Ministers, advisers to the prime minister, the opposition leader in the parliament, judges, parliament members, Jatiya Party Chairman Hussain Muhammad Ershad, chiefs of three services, diplomats, vice-chancellors of different universities, and senior civil and military officials attended the function.