• Tuesday, Dec 01, 2020
  • Last Update : 08:10 am

JU gets new teachers’ association without election

  • Published at 06:06 pm December 22nd, 2014

The election commission for the teachers’ association in Jahangirnagar University announced the new association for 2015 yesterday, cancelling the election as most of the candidates withdrew their names from the contest.

Sources said the election for the 15-member Jahangirnagar University Teachers Association (JUTA) was scheduled to take place on December 31, and the last day to withdraw names from the election was yesterday.

Both pro-Awami League and pro-BNP teachers initially submitted nomination papers. Among them, a section of the pro-Awami League teachers teamed up with the pro-BNP teachers to announce their panel. They withdrew their nomination on Sunday, sources said.

Another group of pro-Awami League teachers, who are also followers of former JU vice-chancellor Dr Shariff Enamul Kabir, withdrew their nomination from the contest yesterday.

Seeing as there was no contest for the 15 posts in the JUTA, the election authorities formed the new body.

Election Commissioner AKM Abul Kalam said: “We have declared the new teachers’ association today [Monday] as there is no contest for the positions.”   

Asked why the teachers withdrew their names from the election, Prof Khaled Kuddus of the international relations department said: “We had submitted nominations for the election for technical reasons, but we withdrew our names because we are no longer interested.”

Among the 15 positions, nine went to pro-Awami League teachers, including the post of the president, and the rest went to the pro-BNP teachers.

Members of the new JUTA are: Prof Md Khabir Uddin of environment science department as president, Prof Dr Nazmul Alam of botany department as vice-president, Prof Mahrufi Sattar of pharmacy department as general secretary, Muhammad Nazrul Islam of mathematics department as joint-secretary, Prof ASM Abu Dayen from Bangla department as treasurer, and

Prof Ajit Kumar Mazumder, Prof Asit Baron Pal, Prof SM Badiar Rahman, Prof Farid Ahmed, Prof Bashir Ahmed, Prof Anwar Khasru Parvez and Prof Rasheda Akhter as the executive members. 

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail