• Wednesday, Nov 14, 2018
  • Last Update : 01:30 pm

48 female MPs declared elected unopposed

  • Published at 08:13 pm March 19th, 2014

The Election Commission yesterday announced the names of 48 women who have been elected unopposed as members of parliament from reserved seats.

Returning Officer Jesmin Tuli issued a notification declaring them as elected unofficially.

The returning officer, meanwhile, rejected the nominations of two other candidates for non-payment of telephone bills. The EC also rejected their appeals against the decision.

Of the 48 new women MPs, 38 were nominated by the ruling Awami League, five by HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party, three by a coalition of 16 independent MPs and one each by Workers Party and Jasad.

The AL-nominated lawmakers are Selina Jahan Lita, Safura Begum, Hosne Ara Lutfa Dalia, Umme Kulsum Smriti, Akhter Jahan, Selina Begum, Selina Akhter Banu, Laila Arjuman Banu, Shirin Nayeem, Kamrul Laila Jolly, Happy Boral, Rifat Amin, Nasima Ferdousi, Lutfun Nesa, Momtaz Begum, Tarana Halim, Monwara Begum, Mahjabin Khaled, Fatema Zohra Rani, Dilara Begum, Fatematuz Zohura, Fazilatunnesa Indira, Pinu Khan, Sanjida Khanam, Nilufar Jafar Ullah, Rokhsana Yasmin Chhuti,  Navana Akhter, Asmatul Kibria Keya Chowdhury, Shamsun Nahar Begum, Fazilaunnesa Bappy, Wasika Ayesha Khan, Jahanara Begum Surma, Firoza Begum Chinu, Amina Ahmed, Sabina Akhter Tuhin, Rahima Akhter, Hosne Ara Bably and Kamrun Nahar Chowdhury Lovely.

The MPs from Jatiya Party are Nur-e-Hasna Lily Chowdhury, Mahzabin Morshed, Merina Rahman, Rawshan Ara Mannan and Shahanara Begum. Lutfa Taher, wife of late Col Taher, is from Jasad, while Hazera  Khatun from the Workers Party.

Three others _ Kazi Rosy, Nurjahan Begum and Umme Razia Kajol _ are from the alliance of independent candidates.

The candidatures of Sabiha Nahar and Khorshed Ara Haque were rejected on the grounds that they owed Tk 11,835 and Tk223, 488 respectively in outstanding bills to BTCL, the state-run telephone company. Earlier, the EC fixed April 3 for voting in the 50 reserved seats for women.