• Friday, Mar 22, 2019
  • Last Update : 06:23 pm

Gazette: Shirin Sharmin Rangpur-6 MP

  • Published at 12:48 pm January 28th, 2014

Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury has been elected as the member of parliament of Rangpur-6 constituency, a gazette published on Tuesday said.

The returning officer declared her an uncontested winner, Election Commission Senior Assistant Secretary Farhad Hossain told the Dhaka Tribune.

The official announcement was made after the last day of verifying the lone nomination paper following an uncontested bid at the seat, he said.

The Election Commission has sent a copy of the gazette to the parliament secretariat in the evening.

The Rangpur-6 seat was declared vacant on January 8 after Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina stepped down because of representing the Gopalganj-3 seat.