• Tuesday, Oct 16, 2018
  • Last Update : 01:13 am

Rowshan Ershad to be opposition leader

  • Published at 09:04 am January 6th, 2014

Rowshan Ershad, senior presidium member of Jatiya Party, will be the opposition leader in the 10th parliament, Kazi Firoj Rashid, another presidium member of the party, said on Monday.

The Jatiya Party leader, who was elected from Dhaka-6 constituency in the 10th parliamentary polls, made the statement to the journalists after meeting with Rowshan Ershad at her Gulshan residence in the capital in afternoon.

“Jatiya Party will join the 10th national parliament as the main opposition party led by Rowshan Ershad,” he said.

In this regard, Rowshan will call a press conference within a couple of days, he added.

Jatiya Party won a total of 33 constituencies in the 10th national parliamentary elections, the second highest after the Bangladesh Awami League who secured first position winning 232 constituencies out of 292.

The polls of rest 8 constituencies will be held within January 24, 2014.