• Wednesday, Nov 14, 2018
  • Last Update : 02:22 am

Joyful Joy and Durjoy

  • Published at 04:39 pm January 5th, 2014
Joyful Joy and Durjoy

The tenth edition of parliamentary election saw a number of sports organisers get elected as the lawmakers from different constituencies across the country. It would be mentionable that some of them were elected uncontested while a number of them were elected after going through the election process yesterday.

Current Bangladesh Cricket Board president Nazmul Hasan was elected uncontested from Kishoreganj-6 while former BCB president Saber Hossain Chowdhury was also elected uncontested from the constituency of Dhaka-9. Another former BCB president and current International Cricket Council (ICC) vice-president AHM Mustafa Kamal was also elected unchallenged from Comilla-10. All of them however were elected lawmakers from the 9th edition of parliamentary election held in 2008.

Zahid Ahsan Russell, the member of Parliamentary Standing Committee of the Sports and Youth Ministry of the last government was re-elected from the Gazipur-2 constituency. He also retained his constituency.

A number of football organisers also saw their name in the list. The vice-president of Bangladesh Football Federation Kazi Nabil Ahmed was elected un-opposed from Jessore-3 to get his first taste of parliamentary experience. Former member of the BFF’s National Team Management Committee Ekramul Karim Chowdhury and Mustafa Rashidhi Dara were elected from the constituencies of Noakhali -4 and Khulna -4 respectively. 

While the above mentioned names were elected un-opposed there were some names who had to cross the election hurdle Former  director of Bangladesh Cricket Board   Golam Dastagir Gazi was elected from Naryanganj-1, former national football captain and current BFF vice president Arif Khan Joy- won the seat of Netrokona-2,   the first Test captain of the country  and current BCB director A.M. Naimur Rahman Durjoy swept the  Manikganj-1 constituency  and Shamsul Haque Chowdhury  won the constituency of Chittagong -12. Shahriar Alam, who was the president of Bangladesh Tennis Federation and former vice president of  Bangladesh Hockey Federation retained his seat of Rajshahi-6.