• Tuesday, Jul 07, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:21 am

35 upazila parishad polls on September 25

  • Published at 03:56 pm June 9th, 2013
35 upazila parishad polls on September 25

The Election Commission (EC) has decided to hold elections of 35 upazila parishads including the five newly formed ones on September 25.

The EC will hold the by-election for the chairman post and elections to the vacant vice-chairman post of 30 upazila parishads. It will also hold polls for the fresh five newly upazila parishads on the same day.

EC sources said they would be approving the draft proposals and finalise the schedules at the full commission meeting which is scheduled to be held on Monday.

They said that the poll schedule announcement has been planned for after the Eid-ul-Fitr because of the heavy workload to prepare for the next parliamentary elections.

According to the draft proposals, the EC has primarily fixed September 25 to hold polls for 35 upazila parishads. The last date of filing nominations is August 27 and they will be scrutinised on September 1-2. The last date of withdrawal is September 9. Besides, the EC has also taken plan to hold the rest of the upazila parishads elections on the same time.

The newly formed upazila parishads are Bijoynagar Upazila of Brahmanbaria, Rangabali of Patuakhali, Taltali of Barguna, Kalukhali of Rajbari and Tarakanda of Mymensingh districts.

The by-election will be held for the chairman posts of Kotchadpur upazila of Jhenaidah district, Sadar upazila of Laxmipur, Veramera of Kustia, Patia of Rajshahi, Fulpur of Mymensingh, Boraigram of Natore, Biyanibazar of Sylhet, Oshtogram of Brahmanbaria, Roumari of Kurigram, Naogaon Sadar Upazila, Amtali of Barguna, Srinagar of Munshiganj, Pirganj of Rangpur, Tarail of Kishoreganj, Koyra of Khulna, Trishal of Mymensingh, Nabiganj of Hobiganj, Companiganj of Sylhet and Ullahpara of Sirajganj.

Upazila parishads going to polls for the vice-chairman posts are Moulvibazar sadar upazila, Bancharampur of Brahmanbaria, Sonagaji of Feni, Borhanuddin of Bhola, Kotiyadi of Kishoreganj, Cox’s Bazaar sadar, Balaganj of Sylhet, Alphadanga of Faridpur, Rajibpur of Kurigram and Lalmohan upazila of Bhola.

Besides, the by-election for the woman vice-chairman post of Sapahar upazila of Naogaon will also be held.

Meanwhile, the last upazila parishads elections were held on January 22, 2009.

After the elections, some upazila parishad chairmen died and some resigned their posts. Since then the posts have fallen vacant till date.

According to the Section 16 of Upazila Parishad Act, the election must be held within 90 days after the posts fell vacant.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail