• Friday, Sep 18, 2020
  • Last Update : 11:23 pm

Chumki sworn in as state minister for women affairs

  • Published at 09:36 am June 2nd, 2013
Chumki sworn in as state minister for women affairs

Ruling Awami League lawmaker and chairmen of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Ministry of Women and Children Affairs, Meher Afroze Chumki, was sworn in as the state minister for Women and Children Affairs on Sunday.

President advocate Abdul Hamid administed the oath taking ceremony at the Darbar Hall of Bangabhaban at 5 pm.

Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Musharraf Hossain Bhuiyan conducted the oath-taking ceremony.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Finance Minister AMA Muhith, Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury, LGRD and Cooperatives Minister Syed Ashraful Islam, several MPs and high civil and military officials were present at the oath-taking ceremony.

The party president and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, gave the green signal to Chumki, the lawmaker from Gazipur-5 constituency, following a discussion with senior party leaders at AL’s Parliamentary Board meeting held yesterday at Ganabhaban.

The post of the state minister for women and children affairs fell vacant while its minister Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, was elected the 13th speaker of Jatiya Sangsad on April 30.

Meanwhile, AL officials said, though there were rumours of reshuffle in the cabinet, any further changes are highly unlikely.

The meeting was convened to discuss the possible candidates for the Kishoreganj-4 by-polls, where most of the AL leaders voiced support for Rejwan Ahmed Toufiq, eldest son of the President Advocate Abdul Hamid.

Meeting sources claimed, the party will give its nomination to Toufiq. However, it will announce the candidate’s name following an interview of the aspirants on May 3.

Kishoreganj-4 constituency includes Itna, Mithamain and Astagram upazilas and fell vacant after its MP Speaker Abdul Hamid was elected President of the country on April 22.

As per the Election Commission’s schedule, the by-poll will be held on July 3.

Parliamentary Board members Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Suranjit Sengupta, Dr Alauddin Ahmed, Syed Ashraful Islam were present at the meeting, which was presided over by party president Sheikh Hasina.

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail