• Thursday, Feb 20, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:44 am

SUST team Olik's Nasa journey uncertain

  • Published at 10:45 pm July 12th, 2019
Winners and guests on stage at the prize giving ceremony of Nasa Space Apps Challenge-2018 organized by Bangladesh Association of Software and Information Services (BASIS) and BASIS Student’s Forum at Independent University Bangladesh (IUB) auditorium on Saturday, October 20, 2018 Courtesy

Visas of eight among 16 members were rejected

The US has rejected visa applications of members of team Olik which won Nasa's 2018 International Space Apps Challenge and was scheduled to visit Nasa.

On February 16, Olik, a team of the Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST) in Sylhet won the award in the "Best Use of Data" category.

Nasa sent Olik members the invitation on June 21 and they applied for visas on July 1. The embassy interviewed them and rejected their visa applications on July 11, reports UNB.

A 16-member team, including five members of Olik, was scheduled to visit the Kennedy Space Center in Florida from July 21 to 23. Tickets and hotel rooms have already been booked. The Information and Communication Technology Division is bearing the costs.

Visas of eight among the 16 members were rejected although all of them had the invitation from Nasa.

The Bangladesh Association of Software and Information Services (BASIS), the local organizer of Space Apps Challenge, ICT Division, and Ministry of Foreign Affairs are contacting the US Embassy in this regard.

Olik's project was a Lunar VR that allows users to explore the landing site of Apollo 11, orbiting over the moon with LRO satellite, and observing eclipse from the lunar surface.

The team collected a 3D model and information from various resources of Nasa.

NASA Space Apps Challenge 2018 Bangladesh Winners are as follows: 

Dhaka-Champion: Team Game Changer; Runners-up: Team Planet Kit

Chittagong- Champion Team Queue; Runners-up: Team Matra

Comilla- Champion: Team Photon; Runners-up: Team MetaCoders

Rangpur- Champion: Team HSTU Matroid 

Sylhet- Champion: Team Olik