• Friday, Mar 22, 2019
  • Last Update : 06:39 pm

Infographic: Wimbledon women’s preview 2018

  • Published at 10:39 pm July 1st, 2018

The Wimbledon Championships, the third Grand Slam of the season, take place in London, England. Unlike the men’s game, women’s tennis has seen five different Grand Slam champions - four of them first-time winners – since Serena Williams took a break from the sport after winning the 2017 Australian Open to give birth to her first child. Jelena Ostapenko and Sloane Stephens were surprise winners at Roland Garros and the U.S. Open respectively in 2017, while Garbine Muguruza secured her second major title when she captured last year’s Wimbledon crown. The two majors to date in 2018 produced long-overdue first victories for Caroline Wozniacki in Melbourne and Simona Halep in Paris.