• Tuesday, Jan 28, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:32 am

Kurigram clinch Independence Cup Kabaddi

  • Published at 09:47 pm May 6th, 2018
Kurigram clinch Independence Cup Kabaddi
Kurigram emerged as the champion in the final round of the Bashundhara Group Independence Cup Kabaddi 2018 after beating Madaripur by 22 points in the final at Shaheed Tajuddin Ahmed Indoor Stadium in Dhaka Sunday. Kurigram earned 58 points with three lonas while Madaripur scored 36 points with a single lona. The champion led the opening half by seven points. The semi-finals were also held the same day where Madaripur defeated Khulna by six points in the first encounter before Kurigram earned a hard-fought four-point win over Sylhet in the second last-four clash.

Also read: Khulna, Sylhet and Kurigram into Independence Cup Kabaddi semis

Mizanur Rahman of Kurigram was adjudged best player of the tournament while his teammate Al Amin became the player of the final. Madaripur's Nasir became the best raider of the tournament while Kurigram's Robiul was named the best catcher. All of them received Tk5,000 each as prize money while the champion and runners-up side got Tk1 lakh and Tk50,000 respectively. State Minister for Youth and Sports Biren Sikder distributed prizes among the winners as the chief guest.