• Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019
  • Last Update : 02:00 pm

Bangladesh squad trimmed to 28 ahead of Asian Games Hockey Qualifiers

  • Published at 02:05 pm January 28th, 2018
  • Last updated at 09:12 pm February 23rd, 2018
Bangladesh squad trimmed to 28 ahead of Asian Games Hockey Qualifiers
Ten Bangladesh players were omitted from the 38-man squad ahead of the Asian Games Hockey Qualifiers, scheduled to be held from March 9-16 in Oman. The 2018 Asian Games will take place in Indonesia from August 18-September 2. The champion and runners-up side in the Qualifiers will get the right to strut their stuff against the established powerhouses in Indonesia. The final 18-member Bangladesh squad will be announced in about a fortnight's time. The 38 members of the Bangladesh hockey squad had begun training on January 12 under the supervision of coach Mahbub Harun. The 10 players who were excluded from the 38-man list are Sojib, Rakin, Shuvo, Sohag, Sagor, Nazmul, Azizul, Shafiqul, Rajib and Prosenjit. The 10 players, along with the other 10 who will be omitted from the final squad need not be disheartened as they will form a 20-man Bangladesh A squad. Bangladesh 28-man squad Ashim Gope, Abu Sayeed Nippon, Biplob Kujur, Mamunur Rahman Chayan, Imran Hasan Pintu, Khorshedur Rahman, Farhad Ahmed Shitul, Rezaul Karim Babu, Ashraful Islam, Sohasur Rahman Sabuj, Shishir, Manoj Babu Mehedi, Sarwar Hossain, Kamruzzaman Rana, Romman Sarkar, Hasan Jubair Niloy, Naeem Uddin, Rabbi, Mahbub Hossain, Sabbir, Russel Mahmud Jimmy, Pushkor Khisa Mimo, Milon Hossain, Mainul Islam Koushik, Arshad Hossain, Deen Islam Emon and Mohsin