• Saturday, Nov 28, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:47 am

BFF Polls: Badal, Manik against Salahuddin

  • Published at 08:56 pm September 7th, 2020
The candidates of the president Salahuddin-led panel are seen at BFF house on Monday when they collected their nomination form for the forthcoming BFF election Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

A representative of Badal collected nomination paper after Manik, in a hurried visit, bought his own on the deadline day of collecting nomination forms at the BFF House of the capital on Monday

Former national footballers – BFF vice-president Badal Roy and Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club head coach Shafiqul Islam Manik – have decided to contest against current president Kazi Salahuddin for the president post of BFF Election 2020 scheduled to take place on October 3.

A representative of Badal collected nomination paper after Manik, in a hurried visit, bought his own on the deadline day of collecting nomination forms at the BFF House of the capital on Monday.

Other former star striker Sheikh Mohammad Aslam also collected nomination paper for senior vice-president post against reigning Abdus Salam Murshedy. Aslam has recently been tested Covid-19 positive. His representative bought the form.

Total 33 nomination forms were sold on deadline day including three for president, two senior VPs, five VPs and 23 for executive members.

The main attention was on three-time president Salahuddin-led full 21-member panel titled Sammilita Parishad who arrived in the afternoon. Candidates for president and senior vice-president were unchanged from 2016 polls but three changes are brought into four vice-president posts except Kazi Nabil Ahmed. Bashundhara Kings president Imrul Hasan, current ex co- member and Mohammedan SC official Amirul Islam Babu and Toma Group chairman Ataur Rahman Bhuiyan are new VP candidates from the panel. 

Harunur Rashid, Shawkat Ali Khan Jahangir, Mahfuza Akter Kiron, Satyajit Das Rupu, Md Ilias Hossain,  Bijon Barua, Md Iqbal Hossain, Amit Khan Shuvro, Mahiuddin Ahmed Selim, Jakir Hossain Chowdhury stayed put with Salahuddin while Syed Riazul Karim, Kamrul Hasan Hilton, Imtiaz Ahmed Sabuj, Md Asaduzzaman Mithu and Nurul Islam Nuru are new member candidates in the panel. 

“Nobody is new in sports arena. Everyone is involved in the game,” Murshedy after revealing the names to reporters in front of BFF House. Shamsul Haq Chowdhury and Saleh Jaman Selim were introduced as chief coordinator and co-coordinator respectively.  

Favourite Salahuddin seemed confident to retain as BFF boss for fourth consecutive time. He replied to a query, “If I’m not confident I wouldn’t have participated in the election.” 

Three-time vice-president Badal Roy contested from Salahuddin's panel during 2012 and 2016 election. He is determined not to leave the BFF president unchallenged this time. Manik, former national team head coach, said that 40 years’ experience in football arena inspired him to take challenge.

Meanwhile, a total of 49 candidates bought nomination forms in three days including three for president, two for SVP, eight for VP and 36 for members who have Tuesday to submit the papers. The names can be withdrawn by September 13. 

Candidates for top 3 posts

Posts   -   Nomination forms sold   -   Names 

President (1) – 3 – Kazi Salahuddin, Badal Roy, Shafiqul Islam Manik

Senior vice-president, vice-president(1) – 2 – Abdus Salam Murshedy, Sheikh Md Aslam

Vice-president (4) – 8 – Kazi Nabil Ahmed, Tabith Awal, Mohiuddin Ahmed Mohi, Imrul Hasan, Ataur Rahman Bhuiyan, Amirul Islam Babu, Sheikh Md Maruf Hasan, SM Abdullah Al Fuad. 

Executive member (15) – 36


blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail