• Friday, Sep 25, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:20 am

Glorious Abahani seal supremacy

  • Published at 11:51 pm November 23rd, 2018
Abahani players and officials celebrate with the Federation Cup trophy after beating Bashundhara Kings in the final in Dhaka Friday Dhaka Tribune

Abahani’s Sunday Chizoba was the star of the pulsating contest, as the highest-scorer of the tournament scored a brilliant brace, taking his tally to six

Abahani Limited clinched their third consecutive Federation Cup title in style as the top-flight champion came from behind to defeat star-studded Bashundhara Kings 3-1 in an eventful final of the season-opening tournament at Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka Friday.

Abahani’s Sunday Chizoba was the star of the pulsating contest, as the highest-scorer of the tournament scored a brilliant brace, taking his tally to six.

The Sky Blues have now become the sole record-holder of winning the highest (11) silverware in the history of the Federation Cup, leapfrogging arch-rival Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited, who have 10 titles. 

The latest title also means Abahani qualified for the AFC Cup 2019.

Before the exciting match between traditional giant Abahani and cash-rich new sensation Bashundhara, the contest between Sunday and Bashundhara’s Costa Rican World-Cup star Daniel Colindres was also a subject of attraction. 

Both the players scored four goals each before the match and were the most attractive players in the tournament. 

The South American took an early lead by scoring in the first half, but the African became the eventual winner with two second-half goals.

Abahani’s Haitian recruit Krevens Belfort added another one to add a glorious chapter in the history books of the illustrated club.

Abahani carried on their improved performance from the group stage to the knockout stage consistently, and match by match, before putting up yet another dominating display against one of the most consistent teams in the competition. 

However, Bashundhara couldn’t bring their consistency to the final, failed to cope with Abahani’s experience and their defence finally surrendered against Sunday and Belfort in the second half.

Kyrgyzstan’s defensive midfielder Baktiyar Duishobekov returned to the squad after international duty as he replaced Nurul Naim Faisal into the starting XI while Abahani kept an unchanged squad that brought them a semi-final win. 

A sudden injury by Abahani’s key centre-back Topu Barman forced head coach Zakaria Babu to make an early substitution at the quarter-hour mark. 

Youngster Tutul Hossain Badshah came off the bench to take Topu’s role. 

The defence however, became disorganised for quite a while and Colindres took the opportunity.

Colindres broke the deadlock in the 21st minute after a shaky defensive response from Alamgir Kabir Rana’s cross. 

Goalkeeper Shahidul Alam Sohel’s poor punch was collected by an unmarked Colindres and it was an easy slot home for him as he got enough time and space for a neat finish with the left foot. 

Abahani had their chances in the 26th and 36th minute and on both occasions, it was Sunday whose first attempt with a close-range header was saved by keeper Anisur Rahman Zico before being brilliantly tackled by Sushanta Tripura at the edge of the six-yard box. 

Abahani were denied in the first minute of the second half as Sunday’s shot hit the woodwork.

But the Nigerian finally found the equaliser as he placed home Rayhan Hasan’s long throw five minutes later. 

Abahani’s Sohel Rana was arguably the top performer on the pitch among the local players. 

The national midfielder played a vital role in penetrating the opponent’s defence, especially during the second goal in the 79th minute. 

Sohel drifted past a couple of defenders to run towards the opponent’s terrain before feeding an unmarked Sunday to his left from the edge of the box. 

Sunday calmly placed home to give his side the lead. 

The Sky Blues remained composed as Belfort sealed victory by extending the lead three minutes later with a glancing header into the near post following a precise corner by Waly Faisal.

After the game turned into Abahani’s favour in only four minutes, it became difficult for some Bashundhara players to control their temper. 

The situation worsened between the players of both the sides after a risky tackle sent Sunday off the pitch in an ambulance.

A bitter incident in injury time, followed by a clash between Bashundhara defender Sushanta Tripura and Abahani’s substitute striker Nabib Newaj Jibon resulted in a brawl, forcing referee Mizanur Rahman to splash four red cards to substitutes Mamun Mia (Abahani) and Towhidul Alam Sabuj (Bashundhara) along with Sushanta and Jibon.

Sohel was adjudged the player of the final while Sunday became the player of the tournament, along with clinching the top-scorer’s award.

Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra received fair play award.


Abahani 3 (Sunday 51, 79, Belfort 82) 1 Bashundhara (Colindres 21)


Top-scorer – Sunday Chizoba, Abahani (6 goals)

Player of final – Sohel Rana, Abahani

Player of tournament – Sunday Chizoba

Fair play award – Sheikh Russel


Team                Titles

Abahani Limited        11    

Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited    10        

Bangladesh Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra    3        

Brothers Union            3        

Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited    3    

Year    Winner                        Runners up 

2018    Abahani Limited                Bashundhara Kings

2017    Abahani Limited                Chittagong Abahani Limited 

2016    Abahani Limited                Arambagh Krira Sangha    

2015    Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited    Bangladesh Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra 

2013    Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited    Bangladesh Muktijoddha Sangsad Krira Chakra

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail