• Saturday, Dec 04, 2021
  • Last Update : 12:30 am

Bangladesh win maiden T20I series over Kiwis after six-wicket victory

  • Published at 03:40 pm September 8th, 2021
Bangladesh's Mahmudullah plays a shot during their fourth T20I at home to New Zealand Wednesday AFP

The Tigers chased down the Kiwis' tally of 93-all out with five balls to spare to take an unassailable 3-1 lead in the five-match series

Bangladesh registered their maiden T20I series victory over New Zealand after their six-wicket win in the fourth and penultimate match at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Wednesday.

The Tigers chased down the Kiwis' tally of 93-all out with five balls to spare to take an unassailable 3-1 lead in the five-match series.

In yet another chase which got tricky after the fall of wickets at regular intervals, only two Bangladesh batsmen - captain Mahmudullah (43*) and opener Mohammad Naim (29*) - reached double digit, but it proved to be more than enough in the end.   

New Zealand spinners Ajaz Patel (2/9) and Rachin Ravindra (0/8) bowled eight tidy overs but first Naim and then Mahmudullah guided their side to victory.

Bangladesh earlier put in a disciplined effort to dismiss the Kiwis for 93.

Left-arm seamer Mustafizur Rahman (4/12) and left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed (4/10) both bagged four wickets apiece as the Black Caps were bundled out with three balls to spare.

New Zealand batsman Will Young top-scored for his side with 46 off 48 balls, with five fours and a six, but only two other batsmen - captain Tom Latham (21) and opener Finn Allen (12) - reached double figure.

Bangladesh had been asked to chase after the Kiwis won the toss and opted to bat first.

Bangladesh had an unchanged playing XI while New Zealand made two changes - Hamish Bennett and Blair Tickner returned in place of Jacob Duffy and Scott Kuggeleijn.

Bangladesh XI: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah (capt), Nurul Hasan (wk), Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed

New Zealand XI: Rachin Ravindra, Finn Allen, Will Young, Tom Latham (capt & wk), Colin de Grandhomme, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell, Cole McConchie, Ajaz Patel, Blair Tickner, Hamish Bennett

Facebook 55
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail