• Sunday, Feb 28, 2021
  • Last Update : 11:33 am

Uncapped trio in Bangladesh squad for Windies ODIs

  • Published at 04:25 pm January 16th, 2021

Hasan and Mahedi have already tasted the experience in the national dressing room having played for the country in T20s

Uncapped pacers Hasan Mahmud and Shariful Islam and spinner Mahedi Hasan were included in the Bangladesh ODI team as Bangladesh Cricket Board declared an 18-member squad for the home series against the West Indies.

“We have declared an 18-member squad due to the Covid-19 situation. You never know who gets ill when. We have named three uncapped players Mahedi, Shariful and Hasan as they are part of the plan. We have initiated our next way forward through this series. They have been included so that they can remain close to the team management and go through a process,” chief national selector Minhajul Abedin said to the media.

“We have a plan for the 2023 World Cup and want to go ahead series by series. As we got the West Indies at home now, we look to play well in this series and get to a good start.

“We tried to keep all combinations open for us in the squad let it be pace bowling or spin. We can have replacements according to the need. We have a good team combination, batting and bowling is well balanced. I believe this team will gift us a good series.”

Right-arm paceman Hasan and off-spinner Mahedi have already tasted the experience in the national dressing room having played for the country in T20s. 

Hasan made his debut in international cricket in the home series against Zimbabwe in March last year, playing one T20 in the two-match series. 

Cricket West Indies confirmed on their website Wednesday that one of their players, Hayden Walsh Jr has tested positive for Covid-19 in Dhaka and will miss undergo a period of self-isolation.

Posted by Sports Tribune on Friday, 15 January 2021

Also handy with the bat, Mahedi has played four T20s for Bangladesh having made his debut in the shortest format in 2018.

However, for left-arm pace bowler Shariful, the occasion is the first to get called up into the national squad in any format of the game.

Meanwhile, ace all-rounder Shakib al Hasan has returned to the national dressing room through the squad. 

Shakib completed his one-year ban imposed by the International Cricket Council in October last year. 

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur will hold the first two games Wednesday and Friday respectively.

The third and final ODI will be played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on January 25.

18-man squad

Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Shakib al Hasan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Saifuddin, Mahedi Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Shariful Islam

Facebook 57
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail