• Saturday, Jul 31, 2021
  • Last Update : 10:33 am

No Mashrafe in Tigers squad for WI ODIs, Shakib returns

  • Published at 02:40 pm January 4th, 2021
Mashrafe bin Mortaza

BCB has announced the preliminary squads for ODIs and Tests against the West Indies

Former captain and veteran pacer Mashrafe bin Mortaza has not been included in the 24-man Bangladesh preliminary squad, announced Monday, for the upcoming three-match ODI series against the West Indies.

Bangladesh Cricket Board has also revealed the 20-man preliminary squad for the two-Test series against the Windies.

All-rounder Shakib al Hasan has returned to both ODI and Test squads after completing his one-year ban from international cricket.

Mashrafe, the most successful Bangladesh captain in history, has played 220 ODIs so far and taken 270 wickets. 

The 37-year old has retired from T20Is and has not played Tests since 2009.

He was entrusted with the ODI captaincy in 2015 and under his leadership Bangladesh transformed into one of the most competitive sides in world cricket in the 50-over format.

Mashrafe last played in the Zimbabwe series at home last year where Bangladesh won 3-0.

Bangladesh cricket team are going to see a busy schedule in the year 2021, if the Covid-19 pandemic doesn’t cause further interruptions.

Posted by Sports Tribune on Saturday, 2 January 2021

He was the skipper in that series, and he announced his decision to relinquish captaincy after the third and final ODI. 

But he did not retire and wished to prolong his playing career.

Cricket resumed in Bangladesh in November through BCB President’s Cup but Mashrafe did not take part in that 50-over tournament due to injury.

He also missed the initial stages of the Bangabandhu T20 Cup due to injury but became fit in the middle of the tournament as several teams wanted to include him in the squad.

Later he was picked by Gemcon Khulna who eventually emerged champions. 

Mashrafe took seven wickets in four games, including a five-wicket haul which was his best ever figure in T20Is, to help Khulna reach the final.

Chief selector Minhajul Abedin informed that the decision to axe Mashrafe from the preliminary ODI squad for the Windies series was taken after a long discussion with team management.

Bangladesh cricket fraternity was still riding on euphoric wave following the U-19 team’s World Cup win earlier this...

Posted by Sports Tribune on Thursday, 31 December 2020

“We have respect for Mashrafe and it will remain forever. He has given a lot to the cricket of this nation. It was a tough decision to drop him from the ODI preliminary squad. But we have to face the reality. We have to move forward. We are focusing on the 2023 World Cup. We (selection panel, team management) have taken this decision jointly,” former Bangladesh batsman Minhajul said to the media at a media session in Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Mondayafternoon.

The Caribbean side will arrive Sunday.

The three ODIs will be played on January 20, 22 and 25 respectively. 

The first Test will begin on February 3 while the second and final Test will start on February 11.

24-man Preliminary ODI Squad

Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, Shakib al Hasan, Al Amin Hossain, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shoriful Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim, Hasan Mahmud, Mohammad Mithun, Saifuddin, Liton Das, Mustafizur Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mosaddek Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Soumya Sarkar, Parvez Hossain Emon, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mahadi Hasan, Mohammad Naim, Rubel Hossain

20-man Preliminary Test Squad

Momimul Haque, Taskin Ahmed, Tamim Iqbal, Khaled Ahmed, Shakib al Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mustafizur Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Mithun, Taijul Islam, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shadman Islam, Saif Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed Rahi, Ebadat Hossain

Facebook 56
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail