• Wednesday, Jul 15, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:46 am

DPL to start March 15 sans overseas players

  • Published at 07:37 pm February 23rd, 2020

Chairman of the Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis Kazi Inam Ahmed, following a meeting at the Banglaesh Cricket Board headquarters in Dhaka on Sunday, informed the players’ registration will be held on March 3, 4 and 5 as traditional signing of players by the clubs is set to make a return in the tournament

The Dhaka Premier League 2019-20 season is set to begin on March 15 with the participation of 12 premier Dhaka clubs. However, no overseas player will be allowed to play in the premier 50-over cricket tournament of the country this season.

Chairman of the Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis KaziInam Ahmed, following a meeting at the Bangladesh Cricket Board headquarters in Dhaka yesterday, said player registration will be held on March 3, 4 and 5 as the traditional signing of players by the clubs is set to make a return in the tournament. A special CCDM desk will be setup in Sylhet for registration of national cricketers who will be busy with the ODI series against Zimbabwe. The BCB and CCDM have moved away from the controversial player draft system following severe opposition by cricketers.

“The tournament will start on March 15 and the player transfers will be on March 3, 4 and 5. We will have the first three or four rounds outside Dhaka because the fields at Mirpur [Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium] and BKSP have been heavily used recently. We want to give these grounds a month’s break so that the quality of cricket can be maintained. We are looking at Cox’s Bazar and Chittagong as options,” CCDM Chairman Inam told reporters at SBNS yesterday.

“The clubs have asked BCB to look after the expenses of the team for travelling and staying outside of Dhaka. In Dhaka, the clubs have their own premises and a system of operating the team. Going outside Dhaka increases their costs, which the board will bear,” said the BCB director.

Explaining the decision to not allow overseas cricketers this season, Inam said: “I think this is a good opportunity for local cricketers. We do not have overseas cricketers in BCL [Bangladesh Cricket League] and NCL [National Cricket League]. We have come to this decision following discussion with the board and the clubs.”

A T20 tournament involving the Dhaka League clubs will be played amongst the Super League teams – that is the teams finishing top six in the league phase. Each team will get to play at least five T20 matches and will have the opportunity to sign a maximum three cricketers from the six teams that could not make into the Super League

“We had a T20 tournament by dividing the 12 teams into two groups last year. This year, we will have the T20 tournament involving the Super League teams in a single league format, so that they get to play at least five matches,” said the organiser.



blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail