• Saturday, Jul 31, 2021
  • Last Update : 08:14 pm

Mahedi inspires Platoon victory over Warriors

  • Published at 08:58 pm December 23rd, 2019
Mahedi Hasan
Dhaka Platoon' Mahedi Hasan plays a shot during their BBPL match against Cumilla Warriors in Chittagong Monday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

The victory was Dhaka’s third in five matches this season, while it was Cumilla’s third defeat in the same number of matches

An all-round effort from Mahedi Hasan led the Dhaka Platoon to victory over Cumilla Warriors in the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League T20 yesterday.

The victory was Dhaka’s third in five matches this season, while it was Cumilla’s third defeat in the same number of matches.

Chasing a 161-run target, Dhaka Platoon were shaken by the dismissal of opener Anamul Haque for a duck on the final ball of the first over. However, Mahedi and other opener Tamim Iqbal did more than just steady the ship.

Although Tamim was expected to charge of the innings as the more experienced batsman, it was Mahadi who led the way with a blistering half-century off 22 deliveries. When he was finally dismissed off the bowling of Al-Amin Hossain after scoring 59 off 29 balls, Platoon needed 77 runs to win with eight wickets and 11 overs in hand.

It was Mahedi’s maiden half-century in the T20 format.

Tamim, who was making a comeback for Dhaka after recovering from a high fever, played a conservative hand as Mahadi had assumed the role of aggressor. The stability the experienced batsman offered proved particularly handy when Asif Ali and Jaker Ali both lost their wickets to off-spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman in quick succession, almost immediately after Mahadi.

Opener Tamim was finally dismissed by Soumya Sarkar in the 16th over, after scoring an uncharacteristically slow 34 off 40 balls. Mominul Haque (28 runs off 26 balls) and Shahid Afridi (26 runs off 16 balls) then closed out the game for Dhaka Platoon with a 39-run stand for the sixth wicket.

The game went on to the very last over, with Soumya Sarkar needing to defend 8 runs. Mominul took a single off the first ball, before Afridi hit a six on the third to level the scores. Afridi then took a single to score the winning run with one ball to spare.

Earlier, Mahedi had also shined with the ball for Dhaka Platoon, giving away just nine runs in four overs and picking up two wickets - Soumya on 10 and Sabbir Rahman for a seven-ball duck. The Cumilla Warriors innings was boosted by an unbeaten 65-ball 96 from opener Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

The innings from the Sri Lankan cricketer had come on the back of a sloppy decision by the on-field umpires. Rajapaksa had walked back to the dugout on 20 runs after he was caught at deep square-leg, but the umpires changed their decision after television replays revealed the bowler Wahad Riaz over-stepped during the delivery. Yasir Ali Chowdhury remained unbeaten at the other end on 30 from 27 deliveries, as Cumilla finished on 160/3.



PBB Rajapaksa not out        96    65

Soumya Sarkar b Mahedi    10    6

Sabbir  c Jaker b Mahedi     0    7

Malan c sub Shuvagata b Shadab 9    17

Yasir Ali not out            30    27

Extras (b 3, lb 6, nb 2, w 4)    15         

Total                160/3

Fall Of Wickets

1-16 (Soumya Sarkar, 1.3 ov), 2-33 (Sabbir Rahman, 3.4 ov), 3-57 (Dawid Malan, 9.3 ov)


Mashrafe Mortaza 3-0-21-0, Mahedi Hasan 4-0-9-2, Hasan Mahmud 3-0-34-0, Wahab Riaz 4-0-32-0, Shadab Khan 4-0-32-1, Shahid Afridi 2-0-23-0


Tamim  c Malan b Soumya    34    40

Anamul  † c Soumya b Robiul    0    2

Mahedi c †Mahidul b Al-Amin    59    29

Asif Ali b Mujeeb        0    5

Jaker Ali lbw b Mujeeb        0    1

Mominul Haque not out        28    26

Shahid Afridi not out        26    16

Extras (lb 3, w 11)        14

Total (19.5 Overs)        161/5    

Fall Of Wickets

1-1 (Anamul Haque, 0.6 ov), 2-84 (Mahedi Hasan, 8.5 ov), 3-88 (Asif Ali, 9.5 ov), 4-88 (Jaker Ali, 9.6 ov), 5-122 (Tamim Iqbal, 15.3 ov)


Robiul Islam Robi 4-0-44-1, Mujeeb Ur Rahman 4-1-22-2    , Sumon Khan 4-0-34-0, Al-Amin 4-0-29-1 Soumya Sarkar 3.5-0-29    -1    

Dhaka Platoon won by Five wickets

MoM: Mehedi Hasan (DP)

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail