• Tuesday, Dec 10, 2019
  • Last Update : 12:51 pm

Soumya dropped, Rubel-Shafiul in for 3rd and 4th T20I

  • Published at 12:57 pm September 16th, 2019
Bangladesh's Soumya Sarkar bats in the Mirpur nets as batting consultant Neil McKenzie looks on Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Left-handed batsman Soumya Sarkar, spin-all-rounder Mehidy Hasan, pacer Abu Hider Rony and Yeasin Mishu has been put out from the previous squad

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) declared 15-member squad for the third and fourth T20I of the ongoing TriNation Series with major changes. Left-handed batsman Soumya Sarkar, right-arm spinner Sheikh Mahidi Hasan, pacer Abu Hider Rony and Yeasin Mishu has been put out from the previous squad. Hosts Bangladesh in their third game of the series will face Zimbabwe in Chittagong on Wednesday. 

The BCB on Monday morning declared the squad which has come at the back of a humiliating 25-run defeat against Afghanistan on Sunday evening. Soumya’s omission from the fold has come as a surprise. The left-handed opener has not been in runs since the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. Soumya has been irregular in Bangladesh Test and ODI team and now has been removed from the shortest version of the game. 

With removal of four cricketers from the previous 14-member squad, five fresh names has been included now declared 15-member squad. Pacers Shafiul Islam and Rubel Hossain have been brought back into the fold along with uncapped T20I Nazmul Hossain Shanto. 

Teenaged leg-spin all-rounder Aminul Islam Biplob and exciting young opening batsman Mohammad Naim Sheikh are the other two inclusions in the squad. Nazmul has come as a strong candidate as an opener but there is also option in Naim. The left-handed 20-year-old batter has been in the limelight in last couple of domestic seasons.

Aminul played for Bangladesh U19 as a batsman but has played as a leg-spinner for High Performance team.

Right-arm pacer Shafiul has been on and off in the national dressing room but played his last T20I against South Africa in 2017, while Rubel played his last T20I for Bangladesh on tour of West Indies last year. 

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nayeem Sheikh, Aminul Biplob, Nazmul Hossain Shanto