• Sunday, Jan 19, 2020
  • Last Update : 10:02 pm

Shakib rested as squad declared for SL tour

  • Published at 04:57 pm July 16th, 2019
Bangladesh’s Shakib al Hasan bats during training in Mirpur as Tamim Iqbal looks on Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Bangladesh will play three ODIs in Sri Lanka in the upcoming series on July 26, 28 and 31

Bangladesh Cricket Board has declared a 14-man squad for three-match one-day International series in Sri Lanka sans Shakib al Hasan as he is rested after a fantastic season. 

Shakib played the just concluded World Cup with some minor injuries but that could not prevent the talisman from showing one of the finest displays in the biggest tournament as he scored over 600 and grabbed 11 wickets- an unprecedented achievement in the history of the competition. 

However, the other senior players of the side will feature in the series. Mashrafe bin Mortaza, who had a disappointing tournament, will lead the side despite the rumors were rife about the retirement of the 35-year old. 

On the other hand, Abu Jayed, who did well in the Ireland tri-series just prior to the World Cup but was not included in the first XI in any game of the later tournament, is omitted from the side along Liton Das. The wicket-keeper batsman has taken a leave for his nuptial ceremony. 

That paved the way for wicket-keeper batsman Anamul Hoque Bijoy and left arm spinner Taijul Islam in the squad. 

Anamul, who has scored 1038 runs including three centuries at an average of 30.52 in 37 ODIs, last played an ODI match back in September last year when Tigers were visiting West Indies.

Meanwhile, Taijul, who is a regular member in the Test team for the Tigers, has played just four ODIs since his debut back in 2014. The left-handed spinner grabbed five wickets at an average of 30.20 so far and his best figure of 4/11 came in his debut match against Sri Lanka on December 1, 2014, in Dhaka. 

The squad for Sri Lanka team will have a three-day camp at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium from 17-19 July before departing for Colombo on 20 July.

Bangladesh will play three ODIs in Sri Lanka in the upcoming series on July 26, 28 and 31.

Bangladesh Squad for Sri Lanka Tour: 

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mushfiqur Rahim, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman