• Monday, Aug 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:16 am

Abahani have the last laugh as Rupganj lose the plot

  • Published at 07:05 pm April 26th, 2019
Abahani players celebrate winning the Dhaka Premier League title Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

In the last game, Abahani Limited chased down the target of 318 with ease, and it was Soumya Sarkar who stood tall, playing one of the greatest innings in DPL history

Abahani Limited had the last laugh in the recently concluded Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League as they clinched their second title in a row after leapfrogging Legends of Rupganj in the second last match of the season.

Rupganj were the clear favorite to win the title following the round robin stage as they were four points clear of second placed Abahani after 11 games.

But they suffered twin defeats in the Super Six stage, against Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited first, and later against Abahani, and lost the plot in the end.

Abahani were on top in the Super Six phase as they were dominant in their last five matches. 

The Sky Blues were the strongest team on pen and paper and they proved the depth of their squad in the crucial moments of the season.

Abahani batsmen produced commanding displays in their last two games. 

The title was decided in the second last match of the season when Abahani faced Rupganj at BKSP.

Rupganj had 24 points while Abahani had 22 back then. 

The equation was, if Rupganj had won they would have been champion.

And if Abahani had been triumphant, and Rupganj had lost, then the former would finish on equal points with the latter, but the Dhanmondi outfit would be considered as the league leader due to better net run rate.

And Abahani won convincingly by 102 runs. 

They scored a massive 377 batting first at BKSP, thanks to a brilliant century by opener Soumya Sarkar (106 off 79 deliveries), and eventually won, which also ensured their superiority as far as net run rate was concerned.

In the last game, Abahani chased down the target of 318 with ease, and once again, it was Soumya who stood tall, playing one of the greatest innings in DPL history.

Soumya became the first ever Bangladeshi to score a double century in List A history.  

He scored 208 off just 153 balls with 14 fours and 16 sixes.

It was the 20th title for Abahani in DPL history.

All-rounder Saifuddin was in great form for Abahani throughout the season as he took 25 wickets and scored 243 runs.

Although Rupganj finished second, they won 13 matches this season and eventually ended as the runners-up. 

That just goes to show how competitive this season’s DPL was. 

Rupganj played brilliant, aggressive cricket all through the season and just lost the momentum in the last phase in the tournament. 

But credit goes to them for their entertaining brand of cricket.

And so another season of DPL has concluded, and it ended in style for Abahani.