• Sunday, Jul 12, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:43 am

Abahani lift DPL title again

  • Published at 08:26 pm April 23rd, 2019
Abahani players celebrate winning the Dhaka Premier League title Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Both Abahani and Legends of Rupganj had finished the season with 26 points each and were equal as per head-to-head record. Abahani however took the leap to the title thanks to their superior net run rate

Abahani Limited lifted the Dhaka Premier League title for a record 20th time. The side boosted with national cricketers registered a nine-wicket victory against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club on Tuesday and finished as the champions of the premier 50-over tournament of the country, for the second consecutive year. Abahani were in a must-win situation in the last round game of the 2019 season, and they did it in style with Soumya Sarkar leading the way at BKSP ground.

Both Abahani and Legends of Rupganj had finished the season with 26 points each and were equal as per head-to-head record. Abahani however took the leap to the title thanks to their superior net run rate.

 Rupganj also won their respective last game of the season, defeating Prime Bank Cricket Club by 88 runs and finished as runners-up in the tournament for the second consecutive time.  

At BKSP, Sheikh Jamal were in trouble after winning the toss as they lost half of their side for just 85 runs.  But Tanbir Hayder and Elias Sunny added 91 runs in the sixth wicket before the latter fell for 45 while trying to resurrect the innings. 

Tanbir, who is known as a leg-spinner, continued the repair and received good help from Mehrab Hossain (45 off 46) to form a 98-run stand off 85 balls to take the score to 278.

Even after the fall of Mehrab, the 27-year old continued the onslaught and remained not out on 132 off 115 balls to help his side reach a total of 317-9. The first ever List A century of Tanbir consisted of 10 fours and six sixes, and it seemed that his brilliant ton would put Abahani’s title chase in jeopardy.

However, his innings was completely overshadowed by one of the finest innings in Bangladesh's domestic history. Soumya’s majestic 208 not out and a 128-ball century from Jahurul Islam made the chase seem like a cakewalk. 

Jahurul was dismissed when the score was 312 and Abahani were just six short with more than four overs to go. Soumya finished the match in style putting a Taijul Islam delivery beyond the boundary. 

On the run feast day, Abahani pacer Mashrafe bin Mortaza was the only bowler with a substantial figure as the grabbed 4/56 bowling ten overs. 

The experience of Mashrafe and exuberance of Soumya once again made Abahani the indomitable force it is, in the domestic circuit. 


Sheikh Jamal INNINGS         R    B

Imtiaz lbw b Mashrafe         15    21

Fardeen lbw b Miraz        34    46

Rakin c Jahurul b Mashrafe     1    7

Nasir run out (Sabbir)        13    13

Nurul c Miraz b Mosaddek     17    8

Tanbir not out            132    115

Elias c Miraz b Soumya         45    46

Mehrab c Shanto b Mashrafe     44    36

Taijul c Sabbir b Mashrafe     1    2

Shahidul lbw b Saifuddin    0    1

Afridi not out            4    6

Extras (lb 5, nb 1, w 5) 11

TOTAL (9 Wickets, 50 Overs) 317

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Imtiaz, 5.4 ov), 2-25 (Rakin, 7.1 ov), 3-63 (Nasir, 12.6 ov), 4-83 (Nurul, 15.3 ov), 5-85 (Fardeen, 16.1 ov), 6-176 (Elias, 31.1 ov), 7-274 (Mehrab, 45.2 ov), 8-276 (Taijul, 45.5 ov), 9-278 (Shahidul, 46.2 ov)


Mohammad Saifuddin    10-0-69-1, Mashrafe Mortaza 10-1-56-4, Mehidy Hasan Miraz 8-0-32-1, Mosaddek Hossain 7-0-46-1 Sunzamul Islam 9-1-62-0, Soumya Sarkar 6-1-47-1 

Abahani INNINGS        R    B    

Jahurul c Shahidul b Imtiaz     100    128

Soumya not out            208    153

Sabbir not out            0    7

Extras (lb 4, nb 5, w 2) 11

TOTAL (1 wickets 47.1 Overs) 319

Fall of wickets: 1-312 (Jahurul, 45.4 ov)


Mehrab Hossain 8-0-64-0, Nasir Hossain 7-0-48-0, Shahidul Islam 8-0-38-0, Minhajul Abedin Afridi 10-0-63-0, Elias Sunny 4-0-28-0, Taijul Islam 5.1-0-57-0, Tanbir Hayder 2-0-7-0, Imtiaz Hossain 3-0-10-1

Abahani won by 9 wickets

MoM: Soumya Sarkar (AL)



blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail