• Monday, Sep 27, 2021
  • Last Update : 06:04 pm

Rupganj floor Abahani in battle to table toppers

  • Published at 05:44 pm April 7th, 2019
Subashis Roy
Rupganj's Subashis Roy named the man of the match after their DPL game against Abahani in Mirpur Sunday BCB

Rupganj have now 18 points from 10 games with nine victories while Abahani are now descended to the second spot with 16 points from same number of games

Legends of Rupganj got a crucial victory in the battle of table toppers in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League as they beat Abahani Limited by six wickets at Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla national cricket stadium on Sunday.

Before the match Abahani were leading the table by the virtue of better run rate but they lost the position due to a poor show as they were bundled out for 122 before Rupganj reaching the target by scoring 125/4 in 26.5 overs ascending at the zenith of points table. 

Rupganj have now 18 points from 10 games with nine victories while Abahani are now descended to the second spot with 16 points from same number of games.

Rupganj won the crucial toss early in the morning and elected to field first. Abahani made the worst possible start as in-form opener Jahurul Islam was bowled out by Subhasish Roy in the very first ball of the innings. 

The paceman continued the wreckage as the also got rid of another opener Soumya Sarkar (14 off 22) and one-down Nazmul Islam Shanto (six off nine balls) to reduce Abahani to 21/3. 

Defending champions’ woe continued as they lost two more wickets quickly with Sabbir Rahman dismissed for a duck and Priyank Kirit out for one and half of their side was back in pavilion with only 29 runs on the board. 

Mohammad Mithun and captain Mosaddek Hossain made some sort of resurrection as they added 43 runs in the sixth wicket stand but just when things started to look promising for Abahani, Mithun lost his wicket through a soft dismissal after making 38 off 55 balls with six boundaries.

Three experienced all-rounders Mohammad Saifuddin (1), Mehedi Hasan Miraz (5) and Mashrafe bin Mortaza (15) also failed to support Mosaddek, who stranded with an unbeaten 40 in one side, and Abahani were capitulated in a below par score in 39.1 overs. 

Subhashish took three wickets conceding 37 runs. Mohammad Shahid took two wickets conceding just 11 runs while Nabil Samad also bagged two scalps.   

In reply, Rupganj started impressively as Mehedi Maruf and Mohammad Naim formed a 62-run opening partnership in 10 overs.

Naim got out for 22 but Maruf, who made 59, added another 45 with Mominul Haque (17) to almost take his side to the coast. 

Subhashish was adjudged man of the match for his brilliant opening spell of bowling.

Abahani will face Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club in the last match of group stage while Rupganj will face Uttara Sporting Club in their last encounter before the super six. 


Abahani Limited INNINGS     R    B

Jahurul b Subashis         0    1

Soumya lbw b Subashis         14    22

Shanto c Jaker b Subashis     6    9

Panchal c Jaker b Shahid    1    21

Mithun c Muktar b Nabil     38    55

Sabbir b Shahid            0    8

Mosaddek not out        40    88

Saifuddin b Nabil Samad    1    6

Miraz c Naim b Muktar         5    9

Mashrafe c Shahid b Dhawan    15    10

Nazmul run out (Dhawan)    1    6

Extras  (w 1)     1

TOTAL (All out, 39.1 Overs) 122

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Jahurul, 0.1 ov), 2-8 (Shanto, 2.4 ov), 3-21 (Soumya, 8.3 ov), 4-21 (Panchal, 9.2 ov), 5-29 (Sabbir, 11.4 ov), 6-72 (Mithun, 25.6 ov), 7-78 (Saifuddin, 27.4 ov), 8-88 (Miraz, 30.6 ov), 9-113 (Mashrafe, 35.5 ov), 10-122 (Nazmul, 39.1 ov)


Subashis Roy 8-0-37-3, Mohammad Shahid 8-4-11-2, R Dhawan 6.1-0-17-1, Nabil Samad 10-4-15-2, Muktar Ali 7-0-42-1 

Legends of Rupganj INNINGS     R    B

Maruf b Nazmul         59    85

Naim c sub (Jahid) b Saifuddin    22    20

Mominul run out (Mosaddek)    17    35

Jaker b Sabbir             2    3

Naeem not out            3    4

Nafees    not out            12    14

Extras (w 10) 10

TOTAL (4 Wickets, 26.5 Overs) 125

Fall of wickets: 1-62 (Naim, 10.4 ov), 2-107 (Mominul, 22.5 ov), 3-109 (Mehedi, 23.3 ov), 4-111 (Jaker, 24.1 ov)


Mashrafe Mortaza 3-0-15-0, Mehidy Hasan Miraz 4-1-20-0, Nazmul Islam 4-0-33-1, Mohammad Saifuddin 6-0-16-1, Soumya Sarkar 4-0-18-0, Mosaddek Hossain 4-0-10-0, Sabbir Rahman 1.5-0-13-1    

Rupganj won by 6 wickets

MoM: Subashis Roy (Rupganj)

Facebook 59
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail