• Monday, Jan 20, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:17 am

Prime Bank stun Abahani after third successive Anamul ton

  • Published at 09:51 pm March 22nd, 2019
Anamul Haque
Prime Bank's Anamul Haque plays a shot against Abahani during their DPL 50-over match at Fatullah Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

This is the third consecutive hundred for Prime Bank opener Anamul Haque, and his team won on all three occasions

Prime Bank Cricket Club defeated league leader Abahani Limited by 16 runs riding on opener Anamul Haque Bijoy’s century at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah yesterday.  

This is the third consecutive hundred for Prime Bank opener Anamul Haque, and his team won on all three occasions.

Abahani elected to field first after winning the toss. 

A 154-run partnership between Anamul and Abhimanyu Easwaran for the second wicket led a strong start for Prime Bank.  

Easwaran scored 85 off 96 balls with four fours and two sixes, before getting out in the 40th over.

On the other hand, Anamul registered his ton in the 42nd over before going back to the pavilion with an innings of 102 off 128 balls. 

The right-handed wicketkeeper-batsman hit five fours and two sixes. 

This is Anamul’s 12th List A century, and his third in a row in this season’s Dhaka Premier League.

Later, Ariful Haque played an explosive innings of 51 off just 27 balls to take the score past the 300-run mark for Prime Bank. 

Eventually, they scored 302 for five after 50 overs.

The experienced Mashrafe bin Mortaza remained wicketless for Abahani as his bowling figure read 0/56 in 10 overs, including two maidens.

In reply, Abahani lost opener Jahurul Islam for a duck in the second over.  

But Soumya Sarkar (36), Wasim Jaffer (94) and Nazmul Hossain Shanto (73) led Abahani towards their target till the 30th over. 

Abahani lost Jaffer in the 32nd over and within the next six overs they lost key wickets of Mohammad Mithun (two) and Shanto which disrupted their chase.

The lower middle-order batsmen could not accelerate the run chase and eventually Abahani were all out for 286 in 48.5 overs.

Nahidul Islam, Al-Amin and veteran spinner Abdur Razzak took three wickets each for Prime Bank.

Anamul was adjudged man-of-the-match.