• Tuesday, Nov 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 09:48 pm

Prime Bank post tense win against Khelaghar

  • Published at 12:40 am March 10th, 2019
Prime Bank's Ariful Haque bowls during their DPL match against Khelaghar in Mirpur Saturday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Prime Bank’s Ariful Haque was adjudged man-of-the-match for his all-round performance

Prime Bank Cricket Club registered a tense two-wicket victory against Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity in their Dhaka Premier League match in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Saturday.

Prime Bank elected to field first after winning the toss. Khelaghar lost the wicket of Mahidul Islam Ankon early in the fourth over. 

Wickets at crucial stages halted them from scoring big in their innings. Eventually, they managed to score 195 losing all of their wickets in 46.5 overs. 

Amit Majumder scored 36 while Ashok Menaria made 35. Captain Nazimuddin scored 29 in the middle stages of the innings.

Medium-pacer Ariful Haque took four wickets conceding 24 runs. The experienced Alok Kapali picked up three wickets with his leg-spin.

In reply, Prime Bank off to a good start as openers Anamul Haque Bijoy and Rubel Mia put on 63 for the first wicket before captain Anamul went back to the pavilion after scoring 37 off 46 balls. 

Following Rubel’s departure (46 off 59 deliveries) in the 21st over, Khelaghar took some important wickets and created pressure in the middle part of the innings.

Prime Bank were 132 for six when they lost Kapali in the 34th over. Ariful held his nerve though at the other end and made sure that his team achieved the target as he was unbeaten on 32 off 51 balls.  

Nahidul Islam also played a crucial innings of 31 and formed a 49-run partnership with Ariful for the seventh wicket. Prime Bank reached their target with 18 balls to spare.

Irfan Hossain took three wickets for Khelaghar, while Robiul Haque bagged two.

Prime Bank’s Ariful was adjudged man-of-the-match for his all-round performance.


Prime Bank 196/8 in 47 overs (Rubel 46, Irfan 3/40) beat Khelaghar 195 in 46.5 overs (Amit 36, Ariful 4/24) by two wickets