• Monday, Jan 20, 2020
  • Last Update : 07:57 pm

Sheikh Jamal clinch DPL T20 title despite Farhad heroics

  • Published at 10:43 pm March 4th, 2019
Sheikh Jamal
Sheikh Jamal players celebrate with the the Dhaka Premier League T20 tournament trophy at Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla national stadium Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Chasing 158 runs to win, Prime Doleshwar managed to score 133 losing eight wickets in 20 overs.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club have emerged as the champions of the Dhaka Premier League T20 tournament after defeating Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club by 24 runs in the final at Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla national cricket stadium on Monday.

Chasing 158 runs to win, Prime Doleshwar managed to score 133 losing eight wickets in 20 overs. Farhad Reza played a blistering innings of 45 runs off just 20 balls but it was not enough for the Doleshwar team.

Pacer Shahidul Islam took four wickets for Sheikh Jamal conceding just 19 runs.

Earlier, Sheikh Jamal posted 157 run in the board losing seven wickets in their stipulated 20 overs. Opener Imtiaz Hossian was the top scorer with 56.

Doleshwar captain Farhad took three wickets conceding 32 runs.

Jamal’s Imtiaz was adjudged man of the final while Doleshwar’s Farhad was adjudged as man of the series.   

Key moments:

Imtiaz-Fardeen opening partnership for Jamal

Jamal got off to a good start as their openers gave them a solid platform to score big. Right-hander Imtiaz Hossain Tanna and left-hander Fardeen Hasan scored 62 runs for the first wicket before the latter got out in the fifth ball of the eighth over. The left-hander scored 18 off 20 balls. Imtiaz was the main man in the opening partnership as he scored 34 of the 62-run partnership. Imtiaz even scored 20 runs with three fours and one six against off-spinner Mohammad Arafat in the third over. Eventually, the 34-year old got out after scoring 56 runs off 44 balls with four fours and two sixes. 

Nurul-Tanvir scores some crucial runs in slog overs

Despite the good start, Jamal lost wickets in the middle part and the score was 96 for 4 after 14 overs. At that moment all-rounder Ziaur Rahman came to crease. The right-hander was in good form and he played a 77 off 29-ball innings in the semifinal.  But the experienced all-rounder was dismissed early in the final after scoring just two runs and credit goes to another experienced all-rounder Farhad.  The wicket of Ziaur was crucial at that stage. But captain Nurul Hasan Sohan and all-rounder Tanvir Hyder made a good effort in the end and scored some crucial runs for their team. These two scored 49 runs in 23 balls where Tanvir scored 31 off 15 balls with four fours and one six. Nurul also played his part and scored 33 off 27 balls.  

Minhajul Abedin Afridi does the trick

Sheikh Jamal have picked the young leg-spinner Minhajul Abedin Afridi in the playing eleven for the final. The right-arm spinner, playing his first match in the tournament, played a crucial part while defending 157 for his team. Doleshwar made a good opening start as their openers Saif Hasan and Mohamamd Arafat scored 62 in nine overs. Saif lost his wicket against Salauddin Shakil in the ninth over and Arafat retired hurt due to injury. Then, spinner Minhajul bowled an economical spell and only conceded 10 runs in his 4 overs. He also took the wicket of Farhad Hossain by bowling him in fourteenth over. But more importantly he kept pressure with tight bowling and that eventually that became a pivotal point for the final outcome. 

Farhad’s cameo goes in vain 

Doleshwar’s Farhad played a brilliant innings in the end to come to close to a memorable victory for. The right-handed scored 45 runs off just 20 balls with two fours and five sixes. As many as 49 runs were needed in the last two overs and Farhad took 21 runs in the 19th over. The task seemed to be difficult but the form Farhad was having in the tournament and with him on strike in the last over, Doleshwar had their hopes alive of a memorable win. But Farhad got out in the first ball of the over off pacer Shahidul Islam as Sheikh Jamal wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan took a brilliant catch diving to his right. The match was all but over after Farhad got out but it was a brave attempt by the in-form all-rounder and albeit not being successful in the cause but his spark finished a tremendously successful first all-local T20 league in the country with a sparkling note.

Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club captain Farhad Reza plays a shot against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club <strong>Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik</strong> 

DPL, Final

Sheikh Jamal INNINGS                                   R             B

Fardeen  c Saif b Manik                                  18           20

Imtiaz b Sunny                                                  56           44

Hasanuzzaman c Aslam b Enamul jr            4              3

Nasir c Sunny b Shykat                                   5              7

Nurul c Aslam b Farhad                                  33           27

Ziaur c Farhad b Farhad                                  2              3

Tanbir c Mahmudul b Farhad                        31           15

Sunny   not out                                                 4              1

Shahidul not out                                               0              0

Extras (lb 3, w 1)                                               4

TOTAL  (7 Wickets, 20 Overs) 157

Fall of wickets: 1-62 (Fardeen, 7.5 ov), 2-68 (Hasanuzzaman, 8.3 ov), 3-76 (Nasir, 10.2 ov), 4-96 (Imtiaz, 13.6 ov), 5-104 (Ziaur, 15.1 ov), 6-153 (Tanbir, 19.4 ov), 7-153 (Nurul, 19.5 ov)


Mohammad Arafat 2-0-24-0, Arafat Sunny 4-0-25-1, Enamul Haque jr 4-0-30-1, Manik Khan 2-0-12-1, Farhad Reza 4-0-32-3, Shykat Ali  4-0-31-1

Prime Doleshwar INNINGS                          R             B

Saif c & b Salauddin                                     26           28

Arafat retired hurt                                         33           23

Marshall c Hasanuzzaman b Shahidul       3              7

Farhad b Afridi                                                6              15

Mahmudul st Nurul b Sunny                         3              6

Farhad c Nurul b Shahidul                             45           20

Shykat c Nurul b Salauddin                           2              5

Aslam lbw b Shahidul                                     3              7

Manik c Sunny b Shahidul                             3              5

Sunny   not out                                                 3              4

Enamul jr not out                                             0              0

Extras (lb 1, w 5) 6

TOTAL (8 Wickets, 20 Overs) 133

Fall of wickets: 1-62 (Saif, 8.6 ov), 2-64 (Marshall, 10.3 ov), 3-72 (Mahmudul, 12.1 ov), 4-77 (Farhad, 13.4 ov), 5-88 (Shykat, 15.2 ov), 6-105 (Aslam, 17.1 ov), 7-130 (Farhad, 19.1 ov), 8-131 (Manik, 19.3 ov)


Nasir Hossain 4-1-26-0, Salauddin Sakil 4-0-41-2, Elias Sunny 4-0-36-1, Shahidul Islam 4-0-19-4, Minhajul Abedin Afridi 4-0-10-1              

Sheikh Jamal won by 24 runs

MoM: Imtiaz Hossain (SJ)

MoS: Farhad Reza (PD)