• Wednesday, Jul 15, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:42 am

DPL T20 begins Monday

  • Published at 06:31 pm February 24th, 2019
CCDM chairman Kazi Inam Ahmed briefs the media BCB

A total of 12 teams, divided into four groups, will take part in the competition

The Dhaka Premier League T20 will get underway Monday at two different venues in Dhaka.

The BCB has already announced that the matches of this tournament will be given List A status by world cricket’s governing body International Cricket Council.

A total of 12 teams, divided into four groups, will take part in the competition.

Abahani Limited have been draw in Group A alongside Prime Bank Cricket Club and Brothers Union.

Group B comprises Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited, Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity and Uttara Sporting Club.

Group C contains Legends of Rupganj, Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited and Shinepukur Cricket Club while Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club, Gazi Group Cricketers and Bangladesh Krira Shikhha Protishthan will play in Group D.

On the first day of the tournament, Sheikh Jamal will take on Khelaghar in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in the afternoon game while Abahani will face Brothers in the evening match at the same venue.

Away at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah, Rupganj will face off against Shinepukur in the morning game while Doleshwar will lock horns with BKSP in the afternoon match.

Walton has been declared the title sponsor of the tournament, along with Modele Group. 

Gazi TV has been named the broadcaster.

Gazi TV will telecast the two semi-finals and the final.

The champion and runners-up will receive Tk5 lakhs and Tk3 lakhs respectively.

These details were announced in a press conference in Dhaka Sunday where Cricket Committee of Dhaka Metropolis chairman Kazi Inam Ahmed was present, along with BCB CEO Nizamuddin Chowdhury Walton Group Group executive director Udoy Hakim, Modele Group group director Kanai Lal Sarkar and Gazi TV managing director Aman Ashraf Faiz.

Kazi Inam said, “After the DPL, Walton Group has become the sponsor of the T20 tournament. Previously, we wanted to stage this tournament but couldn’t due to several complications. We got the opportunity now. Gazi TV will telecast three matches from the T20 tournament. We hope they’ll also show some matches of the Dhaka League.”

Aman on the other hand said, “This is a brave decision on behalf of us. For the first time we will telecast the games with our own instruments and Bangladeshi crew. In the event of any errors during telecast, I would request everyone not to treat it seriously.”


Sk Jamal v Khelaghar, 12:30pm

Abahani v Brothers, 5:30pm

Both the games will be held in Mirpur

Rupganj v Shinepukur, 9am

Doleshwar v BKSP, 1:30pm

Both the games will be held in Fatullah

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail