• Friday, Apr 03, 2020
  • Last Update : 01:32 am

Abahani pitted in tough group in DPL T20

  • Published at 08:27 pm February 21st, 2019
View from the players' draft of the Dhaka Premier League in Dhaka on last Monday BCB

The DPL T20, comprising the 12 DPL teams, gets underway Monday

The star-studded Abahani Limited have been drawn in a tough group in the Dhaka Premier League T20, pitted alongside the likes of Prime Bank Cricket Club and Brothers Union in Pool A.

Pool B comprises Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited, Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity and Uttara Sporting Club.

Pool C contains Legends of Rupganj, Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited and Shinepukur Cricket Club while Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club, Gazi Group Cricketers and Bangladesh Krira Shikhha Protishthan make up Pool D.

The DPL T20, comprising the 12 DPL teams, gets underway Monday.

On the opening day of the tournament at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka, Sheikh Jamal and Khelaghar will face each other at 12:30pm, while the Sky Blues will lock horns with Brothers at 5:30pm.

On the same day at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah, Rupganj will take on Shinepukur at 9am while Doleshwar will face BKSP at 1:30pm.

Only the group champions will progress to the semi-finals.

Both the semis will be held in Mirpur on March 1 while the day-night final will also take place at the home of cricket two days later.

Following the DPL T20, the 50-over DPL will begin on March 8.


Pool A: Abahani, Prime Bank and Brothers

Pool B: Sk Jamal, Khelaghar and Uttara Sporting

Pool C: Rupganj, Mohammedan and Shinepukur

Pool D: Doleshwar, Gazi Group and BKSP


Date    Match    Teams                Time        Venue

Feb 25    1    Sk Jamal v Khelaghar        12:30pm    Mirpur

    2    Abahani v Brothers        5:30pm    Mirpur

    3    Rupganj v Shinepukur        9am        Fatullah

    4    Doleshwar v BKSP        1:30pm    Fatullah

Feb 26    5    Mohammedan v Shinepukur    12:30pm    Mirpur

    6    Prime Bank v Brothers    5:30pm    Mirpur

    7    Gazi Group v BKSP        9am        Fatullah

    8    Khelaghar v Uttara Sporting    1:30pm    Fatullah

Feb 27    9    Abahani v Prime Bank        12:30pm    Mirpur

    10    Doleshwar v Gazi Group    5:30pm    Mirpur

    11    Sk Jamal v Uttara Sporting    9am        Fatullah

    12    Rupganj v Mohammedan    1:30pm    Fatullah

Mar 1    13    Semi-final 1 (B1vC1)        12:30pm    Mirpur

    14    Semi-final 2 (A1vD1)        5:30pm    Mirpur

Mar 3    15    Final (SF1vSF2)        6pm        Mirpur