• Tuesday, Nov 12, 2019
  • Last Update : 01:41 am

Dhaka League’s retained players’ list revealed

  • Published at 10:41 pm February 16th, 2019

The draft will take place Monday in the capital as the 12 participating teams have retained three players each

The BCB has published a list of players ahead of the draft of the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2019. 

The draft will take place Monday in the capital as the 12 participating teams have retained three players each.

Aside from those 36 players, the BCB has also revealed a list of 233 local players who can be picked through the draft.

The players have been divided into seven groups - A+, A, B+, B, C+, C and D. 

Defending champion Abahani Limited have decided to retain Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza, whose price tag is Tk35 lakhs under A+ category. 

Masharafe led the side from the front last year as he took 39 wickets, most by a bowler in the league by a big margin. 

He bagged those wickets in 16 matches while the second placed Asif Hasan of Legends of Rupganj got 29 wickets, 10 less than Bangladesh’s ODI skipper, from the same number of matches. 

The charismatic leader grabbed those wickets at an average of 14.61, best among the bowlers who have taken at least 20 wickets. 

Abahani also retained Nazmul Hossain Shanto, the highest scorer of the league. 

Nazmul made 749 runs at an average of over 57 but the powerhouse of Dhaka cricket left second highest-scorer Anamul Haque Bijoy, who made 744 runs, and the wicket-keeper batsman is up for grabs with a tag of Tk26 lakhs under A+ category. 

In the same category, Mahmudullah (Tk35 lakhs), Mustafizur Rahman (Tk25 lakhs), Mehedi Hasan Miraz (Tk25 lakhs), Nasir Hossain (Tk23 lakhs), Liton Das (Tk25 lakhs) and Rubel Hossain (Tk25 lakhs) will be available in the draft. 

Another A+ player Imrul Kayes was retained by Gazi Group Cricketers. 

Last year’s runners-up Rupganj retained their prolific run-scorer Nayeem Islam, the third highest run-scorer but Prime Doleshwar freed Fazle Mahmud, the fourth highest run-getter, and his price tag will be Tk15 lakhs under B+ category. 

Mohammad Ashraful, who scored 665 to finish as the fifth-highest run-getter, has to find a new team as his Kalabagan Krira Chakra were relegated and he belongs to B+ category with a price of Tk15 lakhs. 

Rupganj retained Asif for Tk 12 lakhs but freed third-highest wicket-taker Mohammad Shahid, who got 29 wickets.

Meanwhile, the next two bowlers in the list, Farhad Reza and Qazi Anik, who notched 29 and 28 wickets respectively, were retained by Doleshwar and Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited respectively.