• Tuesday, Jan 28, 2020
  • Last Update : 10:56 am

Comilla clinch BPL 6 riding on majestic Tamim

  • Published at 08:58 pm February 8th, 2019
Comilla Victorians' Tamim Iqbal plays a shot during their BPL final against Dhaka Dynamites in Mirpur Friday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Tamim Iqbal was the hero for the Victorians as his quickfire knock came from just 61 balls, featuring as many as 10 fours and 11 sixes

Comilla Victorians clinched the BPL 6 title after beating Dhaka Dynamites by 17 runs in the final at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Friday, riding on opening batsman Tamim Iqbal’s majestic 141.

Chasing exactly 200, Dhaka were restricted to 182 for the loss of nine wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Rony Talukdar smashed a quick 38-ball 66, including half a dozen fours and four sixes, while opener Upul Tharanga made a 27-ball 48, but the Dynamites eventually fell 17 short.

Comilla’s Wahab Riaz bagged three wickets.

Earlier, Tamim smashed a brilliant unbeaten 141-run innings to inspire Comilla to an imposing total of 199 in their stipulated 20 overs.

Winning the toss, Dhaka captain Shakib al Hasan opted to bowl first. 

Tamim was the hero for the Victorians as his quickfire knock came from just 61 balls, featuring as many as 10 fours and 11 sixes.  

Tamim rises to the occasion

Tamim initially struggled early in the tournament as he scored three ducks in the group stage. 

But the left-hander, Comilla’s icon player, rose to the occasion in the grand finale, and played a superb knock. 

Tamim started watchfully and accelerated his innings beautifully after crossing the 40 run mark.

Two wickets in two balls

Just when Comilla were cruising nicely, Dhaka picked up two wickets in consecutive balls and that halted their charge and controlled the run rate. 

Anamul Haque was adjudged leg before wicket against Shakib in the last ball of the 12th over. 

The score was 98 for the loss of two wickets then. 

Shamsur Rahman came in at No 4 for Comilla and off the very first ball, he was caught short of the crease after a mix up with Tamim. 

It was a good fielding effort by Shakib to remove Shamsur and Comilla went to the backfoot after losing two wickets in as many deliveries.

23 runs in 15th over

Later, Tamim took charge and Comilla smashed 23 runs in the 15th over. 

Imrul Kayes scored a single off the first delivery. 

And in the next five balls, Tamim scored 4, 6, 2, 4, 6. 

Magnificent aggression from Tamim and Comilla were on top once again.

Tamim reaches century in style

In the 17th over, Tamim blasted 22 runs against Andre Russell and recorded his first ever BPL century. 

Tamim hammered a six off the first ball, and went to 99. 

The next ball was a dot. 

Tamim then scored a boundary off the third ball, executing a beautiful pull shot to reach his three-figure mark in just 50 balls. 

The next three balls were 2, 4 and 6. 

Brilliant batting by Tamim indeed.

Narine run out for nought

Comilla made the perfect start as Dhaka opener Sunil Narine got run out without facing a ball in the first over. 

It was a brilliant effort by fielder Saifuddin and Dhaka lost a key wicket without a single run on the board in pursuit of a huge target.

Tharanga-Rony century partnership for second wicket

The other opener Upul Tharanga and No 3 batsman Rony produced a brilliant stand for the second wicket, adding 102. 

Tharanga scored 48 before getting dismissed in the last ball of the ninth over, and with that partnership, Dhaka were back in the game.

Dhaka lose three wickets in three overs

Dhaka were chasing confidently following the 102-run partnership for the second wicket. 

But in the middle overs, Comilla bounced back timely as Dhaka lost Rony’s wicket in the 13th over, Shakib’s wicket in the 12th over and Andre Russell’s wicket in the 14th over. 

Good comeback by Comilla and that did the trick for them eventually.



Tamim not out            141    61

Lewis lbw b Rubel Hossain        6    7

Anamul lbw b Shakib             24    30

Shamsur run out (Shakib)        0    1

Imrul not out                17    21

Extras (lb 6, w 5)            11 

Total (20 Overs)            199/3 

Fall Of Wickets

1-9 (Lewis), 2-98 (Anamul), 3-99 (Shamsur)


Russell 4-0-37-0, Rubel 4-0-48-1, Shakib 4-0-45-1, Narine 4-0-18-0, Onik 2-0-19-0, Shuvagata 1-0-14-0, Mahmudul 1-0-12-0


Tharanga c sub (Haider) b Perera    48    27

Narine run out (Saifuddin)        0    0

Rony run out (Anamul)        66    38

Shakib c Tamim b Wahab         3    5

Pollard c Tamim b Wahab         13    15

Russell c Wahab b Perera        4    3

Nurul c Anamul b Wahab         18    15

Shuvagata c Perera b Saifuddin    0    2

Mahmudul c Wahab b Saifuddin    15    8

Rubel not out                5    5

Onik not out                1    2

Extras (lb 4, w 5)             9

Total (20 Overs)             182/9

Fall Of Wickets

1-0 (Narine), 2-102 (Tharanga), 3-120 (Shakib), 4-121 (Rony), 5-132 (Russell), 6-141 (Pollard), 7-143 (Shuvagata), 8-173 (Nurul), 9-180 (Mahmudul)


Saifuddin 4-0-38-2, Mahedi 3-0-30-0, Wahab 4-0-28-3, Sanjit 1-0-10-0, Afridi 4-0-37-0, Perera 4-0-35-2 

Comilla Victorians won by 17 runs

MoM: Tamim Iqbal (CV)

MoS: Shakib al Hasan (DD)