• Friday, Sep 25, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:05 am

Hales, Rossouw tons flatten Vikings

  • Published at 01:03 am January 26th, 2019
Rangpur Riders' Alex Hales plays a shot during their BPL match against Chittagong Vikings in Chittagong Friday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Rangpur Riders scored 239 in their allotted 20 overs losing four wickets, thanks to brilliant centuries by opener Alex Hales and No 3 batsman Rilee Rossouw

Rangpur Riders produced a commanding display to defeat Chittagong Vikings by 72 runs in their BPL 6 encounter at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium Friday.

How the action unfolded

Chasing 240, Chittagong managed to score 167 for the loss of eight wickets in their stipulated 20 overs. 

Opener Yasir Ali was the lone fighter for the Vikings as he scored 78 off 48 balls, including half a dozen fours and three sixes.

Rangpur skipper Mashrafe bin Mortaza took three wickets.

The game changers

Rangpur scored 239 in their allotted 20 overs losing four wickets, thanks to brilliant centuries by opener Alex Hales and No 3 batsman Rilee Rossouw.

Hales and Rossouw formed a 174-run partnership for the second wicket, the third highest stand in BPL history.

Hales scored 100 off 48 balls while Rossouw remained unbeaten on 100 off 51 deliveries.

Hales was adjudged man of the match.  


Hales’ blistering century

Hales showed his class against the Vikings, scoring a scintillating hundred off just 47 balls with 11 fours and five sixes before getting dismissed off the next delivery. 

Hales and Rossouw added 174 off just 78 balls. 

This is the highest partnership for any wicket this season.  

The right-handed Hales played some beautiful strokes all around the park, and it was great scene for the spectators.  

In-form Rossouw blasts ton

The in-form Rossouw also came to the party, and played yet another splendid knock. 

The left-hander remain not out with eight fours and six sixes. 

Rossouw is currently leading the highest-scorers’ chart of BPL 6 with 459 runs, at a staggering average of 114.75, in nine innings.  

Mushfiq’s triple sixes in same over

Chasing a mammoth 240, Chittagong were struggling from the beginning. 

Captain Mushfiqur Rahim struck three sixes in the sixth over within four deliveries against pacer Shafiul Islam. 

Those three shots were all brilliant, and after watching those strokes, the Chittagong fans probably had a wild dream about pulling off a miracle. 

But Mushfiq was adjudged leg-before wicket against spinner Nazmul Islam, and the dream faded away soon.

Yasir’s impressive 78

Yasir offered some fight till the end and tried to score quickly for the Vikings. 

The youngster however, could not find any partner in the middle who could support him and get near the target of 240. 

Yasir got out in the 16th over against Mashrafe, a good effort from the right-hander.

BPL standing

Rangpur now have 10 points from nine matches, and will face Dhaka Dynamites in their next match. 

Chittagong remain top of the points table with 12 points, and will face Rajshahi Kings Saturday.



Gayle lbw b Jayed            2    6

Hales c sub (Nihaduzzaman) b Raza    100    48

Rossouw not out            100    51

De Villiers c Khaled b Jayed        1    2

Mithun b Robiul             15    10

Nahidul not out            11    4

Extras (lb 1, nb 1, w 8)            10 

Total (20 Overs)            239/4 

Fall Of Wickets

1-6 (Gayle), 2-180 (Hales), 3-194 (De Villiers), 4-227 (Mithun)


Frylinck 2-0-14-0, Jayed 4-0-35-2, Khaled 3-0-50-0, Sanjamul 3-0-37-0, Robiul 4-0-54-1, Raza 4-0-48-1


Shahzad b Reza            20    12

Yasir c De Villiers b Mashrafe         78    48

Raza b Mashrafe             3    3

Mushfiq lbw b Nazmul         22    11

Zadran c Nahidul b Shahidul         1    4

Mosaddek c Shafiul b Mashrafe     14    13

Sanjamul run out (Nazmul)        4    7

Robiul c Nazmul b Reza        7    7

Jayed not out                10    9

Khaled not out            6    6

Extras (lb 1, w 1)            2 

Total (20 Overs)            167/8 

Fall Of Wickets

1-28 (Shahzad), 2-33 (Raza), 3-67 (Mushfiq), 4-79 (Zadran), 5-120 (Mosaddek), 6-142 (Yasir), 7-151 (Sanjamul), 8-151 (Robiul)


Nazmul 4-0-31-1, Mashrafe 4-0-34-3, Reza 4-0-29-2, Shafiul 3-0-35-0, Nahidul 1-0-9-0, Shahidul 4-0-28-1

Rangpur Riders won by 72 runs

MoM: Alex Hales (RR)

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail