• Wednesday, Sep 30, 2020
  • Last Update : 09:16 am

Rajshahi boys make their mothers proud

  • Published at 07:05 pm January 16th, 2019
Marshall Ayub
Rajshahi Kings batsman Marshall Ayub plays a shot against Dhaka Dynamites during their BPL match in Sylhet Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

The Kings become the first team to defeat Dhaka in the BPL 6

Rajshahi Kings handed Dhaka Dynamites their first defeat in the Bangladesh Premier League’s season six at Sylhet International stadium on Wednesday.

Kings, who came in the field with jerseys that bore their mothers’ name, produced a spirited performance as they restricted Dhaka to 116/9 after their batsmen scored 136/6 in 20 overs. 

The game changer

Kings’ spinner Arafat Sunny produced a superb spell of left-arm spin bowling to hold back Dhaka in the middle part of the innings. Sunny picked three important wickets – Andre Russell, Rony Talukder and Dhaka captain Shakib al Hasan – in his four overs and just conceded eight runs that diffused the high flying Dynamites.   

How the action unfolded

Chasing a target of 137, both Dynamites openers got out for single digits and though the next six batsmen evaded the blemish as each of them scored double figures but none could go on to get a big score. As a matter of fact, Nurul Hasan, the wicketkeeper, who batted at number eight,  was the only one scoring over 20 with a 21-run innings, and that clearly showed why Dynamites lost first time this season in their fifth game. 

But the credit is also due for Rajshahi bowlers as they bowled with good lines and lengths to secure their third win of the season.

Mehedi Hasan Miraz, who opened the bowling in one end, took two wickets to aid man-of-the-match Arafat Sunny for accomplishing the feat. 

Earlier, Rajshahi scored 136 losing six wickets riding on an impressive innings from Marshall Ayub. The 30-year old right-hander, who is playing in the BPL for the first time after the 2013 season, scored 45 off 31 balls on a tricky wicket that showed the value of his vast experience in local cricket.

Another experienced batsman Shahriar Nafees, who opened the batting, also made a good contribution making 25 off 27 and the 75-run second wicket stand between Shahriar and Ayub was the backbone of Rajshahi innings. The partnership came in 53 balls to illustrate the two thirty plus players not only formed the base but also did it rapidly, showing their style is suited even in the shortest format.  

Sunil Narine was the pick of the Dhaka bowlers with a figure of 3/19.     

What this result means

Despite the defeat, the Dynamites are still on top of the table with eight points while Kings have now six points, equalling Comilla Victorians and Chittagong Vikings who have an extra match in hand.  Kings will play their next match against Comilla in the Dhaka phase. Dhaka’s next match will be against Sylhet on Friday at the same venue.  

Rajshahi Kings INNINGS                                                                R             B

Mehidy Hasan Miraz c Pollard b Russell                                     1              11

Shahriar Nafees c Rubel Hossain b Narine                                 25           27

Marshall Ayub c †Nurul Hasan b Narine                                      45           31

RN ten Doeschate lbw b Narine                                                    16           16

Zakir Hasan † st †Nurul Hasan b Al Islam                                  20           18

C Jonker not out                                                                               9              9

S Prasanna st †Nurul Hasan b Shakib Al Hasan                         2              4

I Udana                not out                                                                  3              4

Extras  (b 4, lb 6, w 5)                      15

TOTAL (6 Wickets, 20 Overs)        136

Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 2.3 ov), 2-77 (Shahriar Nafees, 11.2 ov), 3-78 (Marshall Ayub, 11.4 ov), 4-116 (Zakir Hasan, 16.5 ov), 5-118 (RN ten Doeschate, 17.2 ov), 6-125 (S Prasanna, 18.3 ov)


AD Russell 3-1-17-1, Rubel Hossain 3-0-17-0, Shakib Al Hasan 4-0-29-1, SP Narine 4-0-19-3, Asif Hasan 2-0-15-0, Al Islam   4-0-29-1       

Dhaka Dynamites  INNINGS                                                        R             B             

Hazratullah Zazai b Udana                                                          6              6

SP Narine lbw b Mehidy Hasan Miraz                                       1              3

AD Russell c ten Doeschate b Arafat Sunny                            11           8

Rony Talukdar b Arafat Sunny                                                    14           26

Shakib Al Hasan c Jonker b Arafat Sunny                                13           18

KA Pollard c sub (Soumya Sarkar) b Kamrul Islam                 13           19

Mohammad Naim c Shahriar Nafees b Mehidy                       17           18

Nurul Hasan † c ten Doeschate b Mustafizur                           21           14

Rubel Hossain run out (†Zakir /Mustafizur)                                0             1

Asif Hasan not out                                                                           6              7

Al Islam not out                                                                                0              0

Extras  (lb 2, w 12)                                            14

TOTAL  (9 Wickets, 20 Overs)                      116

Fall of wickets: 1-11 (SP Narine, 1.1 ov), 2-23 (Hazratullah Zazai, 2.4 ov), 3-23 (AD Russell, 3.1 ov), 4-49 (Shakib Al Hasan, 8.2 ov), 5-53 (Rony Talukdar, 10.3 ov), 6-84 (Mohammad Naim, 15.6 ov), 7-85 (KA Pollard, 16.3 ov), 8-87 (Rubel Hossain, 17.2 ov), 9-112 (Nurul Hasan, 19.3 ov)                              


I Udana 4-0-36-1, Mehidy Hasan Miraz   3-0-18-2, Arafat Sunny   4-1-8-3, Kamrul Islam Rabbi 4-0-24-1, Mustafizur Rahman 4-0-19-1, S Prasanna 1-0-9-0                                                                      

Kings won by 20 runs

MoM: Arafat Sunny (RK)

blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail