• Wednesday, Jun 19, 2019
  • Last Update : 10:37 pm

Khulna lose in Super Over thriller

  • Published at 07:29 pm January 12th, 2019
Chittagong Vikings players celebrate winning against Khulna Titans at the BPL in Mirpur Saturday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Khulna Titans managed to post only 10, and Chittagong Vikings eventually won the match by one run in the Super Over

Khulna Titans conceded their fourth consecutive loss, this time to Chittagong Vikings by one run following the Super Over in their BPL match in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium Saturday.

Chasing 152 for victory, Chittagong needed 19 in the last over against Khulna all-rounder Ariful Haque. 

The Vikings managed to take 18 in that over with three sixes, two of them by Robbie Frylinck. 

But with one required off the last delivery, Frylinck failed to connect and was run out.

And thus the score was level and the BPL saw its first ever Super Over.

In the Super Over, Chittagong sent Frylinck, Cameron Delport and Mushfiqur Rahim to bat as they managed to score 11 with two boundaries against Khulna pacer Junaid Khan.

Needing 12 to win the Super Over, Khulna sent Carlos Brathwaite, Dawid Malan and Paul Stirling to bat against Vikings pacer Frylinck. 

Khulna managed to post only 10, and the Vikings eventually won the match by one run in the Super Over.

Yasir Ali and Mushfiqur Rahim led the way for Chittagong in their chase, scoring 41 and 34 respectively. 

Khulna’s Shariful Islam and Brathwaite took two wickets each.

Vikings all-rounder Flylinck adjudged man-of-the-match for his all-round performance.   

Earlier, Khulna lost the toss and were asked to bat first.

The Titans made three changes to their starting XI as Brathwaite, wicket-keeper Mahidul Islam Ankon and Pakistan’s Junaid drafted into the playing XI.

Openers Stirling and Junaid Siddique made a promising start as they put on 30 on the board in just two overs. 

Chittagong spinner Nayeem Hasan made the breakthrough as Stirling was dismissed for 18 off 10 balls.

Chittagong checked the run-flow in the next few overs before picking up the wicket of Junaid in the sixth over.

Khulna captain Mahmudullah and Malan formed a 77-run stand for the third wicket to lay the platform for the lower middle-order to score some quick runs in the late overs.

But Vikings left arm spinner Sanjamul Islam notched the wickets of Brathwaite (12 off five balls) and Mahmudullah (33 off 31 balls) to give Chittagong the edge.

Khulna eventually managed to post 151 losing six wickets in their stipulated 20 overs.

Malan was the top-scorer for Khulna with 45 off 43 balls with three fours and a six.



Stirling c Jayed b Nayeem         18    10

Junaid c Mosaddek b Frylinck        20    15

Malan c Raza b Jayed            45    43

Mahmudullah c Raza b Sanjamul    33    31

Brathwaite c Nayeem b Sanjamul    12    5

Shanto c Raza b Khaled         6    4

Ariful not out                9    8

Ankon not out                4    4

Extras (lb 2, w 2)            4 

Total (20 Overs)            151/6 

Fall Of Wickets

1-31 (Stirling), 2-41 (Junaid), 3-118 (Malan), 4-132 (Brathwaite), 5-132 (Mahmudullah), 6-142 (Shanto)


Frylinck 4-0-32-1, Sanjamul 4-0-37-2, Nayeem 4-0-16-1, Mosaddek 1-0-7-0, Khaled 4-0-28-1, Jayed 3-0-29-1


Shahzad c Stirling b Junaid         10    10

Delport c Brathwaite b Taijul         17    16

Yasir c Brathwaite b Shariful        41    34

Mushfiq c Shariful b Brathwaite    34    26

Raza b Brathwaite            0    4

Mosaddek b Shariful Islam        12    12

Frylinck run out (Mahmudullah)    23    13

Nayeem c Shanto b Ariful         8    5

Sanjamul not out            0    0

Extras (lb 2, w 4)            6 

Total (20 Overs)            151/8 

Fall Of Wickets

1-12 (Shahzad), 2-51 (Delport), 3-86 (Yasir), 4-87 (Raza), 5-119 (Mosaddek), 6-121 (Mushfiq), 7-139 (Nayeem), 8-151 (Frylinck)


Junaid 4-0-24-1, Brathwaite 4-0-30-2, Shariful 4-0-31-2, Stirling 1-0-9-0, Taijul 4-0-23-1, Malan 2-0-14-0, Ariful 1-0-18-1

Match tied, Chittagong Vikings won in Super Over

MoM: Robbie Frylinck (CHV)



Junaid Khan to Cameron Delport, 4 runs

Junaid to Delport, 1 run

Junaid to Robbie Frylinck, 4 runs

Junaid to Frylinck, OUT

Junaid to Mushfiqur Rahim, 1 run

Junaid to Delport, 1 run

Total – 11 runs for one wicket


Frylinck to Carlos Brathwaite, 1 run

Frylinck to Dawid Malan, 4 runs

Frylinck to Malan, 2 runs

Frylinck to Malan, OUT

Frylinck to Paul Stirling, 2 runs

Frylinck to Stirling, 1 bye, OUT

Total – 10 runs for two wickets