• Friday, Nov 15, 2019
  • Last Update : 03:34 pm

Tigers create history with biggest ever win

  • Published at 10:30 am December 2nd, 2018
Bangladesh's Mehedi Hasan Miraz bowls during day three of their second Test against the West Indies in Mirpur Sunday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

On the second evening, Miraz and Shakib broke the West Indies top-order and after the visitor resumed the third day on 75/5, these two continued their demolition act

Bangladesh scripted one of the most glorious chapters in their cricket history as they clinched their first innings win Sunday in the second and last Test of the series against the West Indies in Mirpur. 

Bangladesh spinners picked up 15 wickets on the third day as they bundled out the opponent for 111 in the first innings and got them all out for 213 the second time round after imposing the follow-on, the first such ordeal by a Bangladesh skipper in history.  

Mehedi Hasan Miraz, who was adjudged man-of-the-match with figure of 12/117, was the chief destroyer as he got 7/58 in the first innings, before picking up 5/59 in the second innings. 

With this feat, the 21-year old Miraz set a new record for best match figure in Bangladesh’s history, bettering his own record of 12/159 that he got against England back in 2016, and also equalled Bangladesh captain Shakib al Hasan with two 10-fors in Tests. 

Shakib meanwhile, kept his supremacy as he ended up scoring 115 runs and grabbing nine wickets in the Test to be adjudged man-of-the-series. 

On the second evening, Miraz and Shakib broke the West Indies top-order and after the visitor resumed the third day on 75/5, these two continued their demolition act. 

Miraz caught Shimron Hetmyer, who made 39, off his own bowling and broke the sixth wicket stand between the latter and Shane Dowrich; the duo adding 57 runs.

Miraz took three more wickets in quick succession before Shakib bagged the last wicket that gave his side a huge 397-run first-innings lead. 

That also presented him with an opportunity to become the first Bangladesh captain to enforce a follow-on in Tests. 

The skipper not only sent the opponent to bat once again but also set the tone in the second innings as he provided the breakthrough by getting rid of his counterpart Kraigg Brathwaite for just one. 

This is the third time Shakib got his counterpart out in this series, and on every occasion, cheaply, and that may give him the feel of winning a mini-battle apart from returning the 2-0 defeat, including one by an innings they faced in the Caribbean this July. 

Miraz also had his own bunny as he got rid of the opponent’s most dangerous batsman Hetmyer, who made an enterprising 93 off 92 with eight sixes and one four, for the fourth time in the series. 

Taijul Islam, who ended the year with 43 wickets, a Bangladesh record, joined the party with Miraz and Shakib in the second innings as he got 3/40 and he befittingly ended the match by trapping the last West Indian batsman Shemron Lewis.

Bangladesh won the first match in Chittagong by 64 runs.



Shadman lbw b Bishoo    76    199

Soumya c Hope b Chase    19    42

Mominul c Chase b Roach    29    46

Mithun b Bishoo        29    61

Shakib c Hope b Roach    80    139

Mushfiq b Lewis        14    24

Mahmudullah b Warrican    136    242

Liton b Brathwaite        54    62

Miraz c Dowrich b Warrican    18    26

Taijul c Dowrich b Brathwaite    26    58

Nayeem not out        12    29

Extras (b 2, lb 8, nb 4, w 1)    15 

Total (154 overs)        508 all out

Fall Of Wickets

1-42 (Soumya), 2-87 (Mominul), 3-151 (Mithun), 4-161 (Shadman), 5-190 (Mushfiq), 6-301 (Shakib), 7-393 (Liton), 8-416 (Miraz), 9-472 (Taijul), 10-508 (Mahmudullah)


Roach 25-4-61-2, Lewis 20-2-69-1, Chase 28-0-111-1, Warrican 38-5-91-2, Bishoo 28-1-109-2, Brathwaite 15-0-57-2


Brathwaite b Shakib        0    6

Powell b Miraz        4    15

Hope b Miraz            10    30

Ambris b Shakib        7    12

Chase b Miraz            0    1

Hetmyer c & b Miraz        39    53

Dowrich lbw b Miraz        37    75

Bishoo c Shadman b Miraz    1    10

Roach c Liton b Miraz        1    5

Warrican not out        5    8

Lewis lbw b Shakib         0    5

Extras (b 4, lb 3)        7 

Total (36.4 overs)        111 all out

Fall Of Wickets

1-0 (Brathwaite), 2-6 (Powell), 3-17 (Ambris), 4-20 (Chase), 5-29 (Hope), 6-86 (Hetmyer), 7-88 (Bishoo), 8-92 (Roach), 9-110 (Dowrich), 10-111 (Lewis)


Shakib 15.4-4-27-3, Miraz 16-1-58-7, Nayeem 3-0-9-0, Taijul 1-0-10-0, Mahmudullah 1-1-0-0


Brathwaite lbw b Shakib         1    4

Powell st Mushfiq b Miraz        6    10

Hope c Shakib b Miraz        25    75

Ambris lbw b Taijul             4    20

Chase c Mominul b Taijul         3    9

Hetmyer c Mithun b Miraz        93    92

Dowrich c Soumya b Nayeem     3    18

Bishoo c Soumya b Miraz        12    31

Roach not out                37    49

Warrican c & b Miraz            0    5

Lewis lbw b Taijul             20    43

Extras (b 6, lb 3)            9 

Total (59.2 overs)            213 

Fall Of Wickets

1-2 (Brathwaite), 2-14 (Powell), 3-23 (Ambris), 4-29 (Chase), 5-85 (Hope), 6-96 (Dowrich,), 7-143 (Bishoo), 8-166 (Hetmyer), 9-171 (Warrican), 10-213 (Lewis)


Shakib 14-3-65-1, Miraz 20-2-59-5, Taijul 10.2-1-40-3, Mahmudullah 1-0-6-0, Nayeem 14-2-34-1

Bangladesh won by an innings and 184 runs, sweep series 2-0

PoM: Mehedi Hasan Miraz

Pos: Shakib al Hasan