• Thursday, Oct 21, 2021
  • Last Update : 10:16 am

Taijul bags 11 as Tigers require 295 for victory

  • Published at 02:36 pm November 5th, 2018
Bangladesh's Taijul Islam bowls during day three of their first Test against Zimbabwe in Sylhet Monday Dhaka Tribune/Md Manik

Taijul Islam finished with five for 62 in the second innings, and 11 wickets in the game - his maiden 10-wicket haul in the format

Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam produced record figures as Bangladesh were 295 runs away from victory with 10 wickets in hand at stumps on day three in their first Test match against Zimbabwe at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium Monday. 

The task for the Tigers will be a daunting one as the side have never been successful chasing more than 217 in the format.

Bangladesh stormed back into the game riding on the efforts of their spinners with Taijul taking the lead. Taijul finished with five for 62 in the innings, and 11 wickets in the game - his maiden 10-wicket haul in the format.

With the 11-wicket haul, he emerged as the third highest wicket-taker in a Test for Bangladesh, and is also the highest wicket-taker for the side from the time since his debut in 2014. In 20 Tests, the 26-year old has picked up 71 wickets.

Zimbabwe went out to bat with a 140-run lead with all wickets intact. The Tigers had come with the intention of restricting the opposition for as less runs as possible and Taijul was on lead to meet the aim. 

Off-spinner Mehedi Hasan Miraz initiated the first blow on Zimbabwe, removing opener Brian Chari for four. 

Six overs later, Taijul accounted for his first wicket in the innings, that of wicketkeeper-batsman Brendan Taylor, to leave Zimbabwe reeling on 47 for the loss of two wickets.

Captain Hamilton Masakadza and left-handed batsman Sean Williams offered some resistance, adding 54 for the third wicket before Miraz removed Masakadza for 48. 

Zimbabwe added 20 more runs on the board when Taijul made a double strike, dismissing Williams and middle-order batsman Peter Moor in the 42nd over.

In the next over, Taijul removed all-rounder Sikandar Raza as Zimbabwe found themselves on 130 losing six wickets.

Left-arm spinner Nazmul Islam Apu and Miraz cleaned up the lower order while Taijul drove in the final coffin, removing No 11 batter Tendai Chatara as Zimbabwe folded for 181, setting Bangladesh 321 for victory.     

Given Bangladesh’s poor performance with the bat in the first innings, and apparently in the last seven matches, the expectation was thin when openers Liton Das and Imrul Kayes walked to the middle. 

The duo however, ensured no damage was done in the last 10.1 overs of play on the day before the match officials removed the bails 35 minutes early than the scheduled time due to bad light.

Imrul and Liton with a safe approach added 26 to shorten the chase on day four at SICS. Imrul and Liton were unbeaten on 14 and 12 respectively. 

The fourth and penultimate day of the game Tuesday will start at 9:30am to recover the loss of time on the third day.



Masakadza lbw b Jayed        52    105

Chari b Taijul                 13    31

Taylor c Shanto b Taijul         6    15

Williams c Miraz b Mahmudullah    88    173

Raza b Nazmul             19    52

Moor not out                            63    192

Chakabva c Shanto b Taijul                     28    85

Wellington c Mushfiq b Taijul                 4    28

Mavuta lbw b Nazmul                     3    14

Jarvis c Miraz b Taijul                         4    9

Chatara c Liton b Taijul                     0    1

Extras (b 1, lb 1)                        2 

Total (117.3 Overs)                        282 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-35 (Chari), 2-47 (Taylor), 3-85 (Masakadza), 4-129 (Raza), 5-201 (Williams), 6-261 (Chakabva), 7-268 (Wellington), 8-273 (Mavuta), 9-282 (Jarvis), 10-282 (Chatara)


Jayed 21-3-68-1, Taijul 39.3-7-108-6, Ariful 4-1-7-0, Miraz 27-8-45-0, Nazmul 23-6-49-2, Mahmudullah 3-0-3-1


Liton c Chakabva b Jarvis    9    25

Imrul b Chatara        5    13

Mominul c Masakadza b Raza    11    38

Shanto c Chakabva b Chatara    5    5

Mahmudullah b Chatara    0    2

Mushfiq c Chakabva b Jarvis    31    54

Ariful not out            41    96

Miraz c & b Williams        21    33

Taijul c Chakabva b Raza    8    24

Nazmul c Chari b Raza        4    15

Jayed run out (Chatara)    0    1

Extras (b 7, lb 1)        8 

Total (51 Overs)        143 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-8 (Imrul), 2-14 (Liton), 3-19 (Shanto), 4-19 (Mahmudullah), 5-49 (Mominul), 6-78 (Mushfiq), 7-108 (Miraz), 8-131 (Taijul), 9-143 (Nazmul), 10-143 (Jayed)


Jarvis 11-2-28-2, Chatara 10-4-19-3, Mavuta 6-0-27-0, Raza 12-2-35-3, Wellington 8-2-21-0, Williams 4-0-5-1


Masakadza lbw b Miraz                    48    104

Chari b Miraz                            4    33

Taylor c Imrul b Taijul                         24    25

Williams b Taijul                         20    65

Raza b Taijul Islam                        25    30

Moor c Liton b Taijul                         0    1

Chakabva c Mahmudullah b Nazmul                 20    65

Wellington lbw b Miraz                    17    60

Mavuta c Ariful b Nazmul                     6    4

Jarvis not out                            1    3

Chatara lbw b Taijul                         8    4

Extras (b 4, lb 4)                        8 

Total (65.4 Overs)                        181 all out 

Fall Of Wickets

1-19 (Chari), 2-47 (Taylor), 3-101 (Masakadza), 4-121 (Williams), 5-121 (Moor), 6-130 (Raza), 7-165 (Wellington), 8-172 (Chakabva), 9-173 (Mavuta), 10-181 (Chatara)


Taijul 28.4-8-62-5, Nazmul 6-1-27-2, Jayed 7-1-25-0, Miraz 19-7-48-3, Mahmudullah 4-1-7-0, Mominul 1-0-4-0


Liton not out            14    38

Imrul not out            12    23

Extras                0

Total                26/0 (10.1 Overs)


Jarvis 5-2-11-0, Chatara 5-1-15-0, Raza 0.1-0-0-0

Bangladesh need 295 runs to win

Facebook 51
blogger sharing button blogger
buffer sharing button buffer
diaspora sharing button diaspora
digg sharing button digg
douban sharing button douban
email sharing button email
evernote sharing button evernote
flipboard sharing button flipboard
pocket sharing button getpocket
github sharing button github
gmail sharing button gmail
googlebookmarks sharing button googlebookmarks
hackernews sharing button hackernews
instapaper sharing button instapaper
line sharing button line
linkedin sharing button linkedin
livejournal sharing button livejournal
mailru sharing button mailru
medium sharing button medium
meneame sharing button meneame
messenger sharing button messenger
odnoklassniki sharing button odnoklassniki
pinterest sharing button pinterest
print sharing button print
qzone sharing button qzone
reddit sharing button reddit
refind sharing button refind
renren sharing button renren
skype sharing button skype
snapchat sharing button snapchat
surfingbird sharing button surfingbird
telegram sharing button telegram
tumblr sharing button tumblr
twitter sharing button twitter
vk sharing button vk
wechat sharing button wechat
weibo sharing button weibo
whatsapp sharing button whatsapp
wordpress sharing button wordpress
xing sharing button xing
yahoomail sharing button yahoomail