• Saturday, Dec 07, 2019
  • Last Update : 12:39 am

Runs galore as Central, East Zone play out draw

  • Published at 10:48 pm April 27th, 2018
Runs galore as Central, East Zone play out draw
Walton Central Zone and Islami Bank East Zone played out a draw as the sixth edition of the Bangladesh Cricket League drew to a closure Friday in Rajshahi’s Shaheed Kamruzzaman Cricket Stadium. In the process, Central Zone finished at the bottom of the points table with 51 points, just one behind third placed East Zone. Prime Bank South Zone had earlier confirmed a record third BCL title Thursday at Sheikh Abu Naser Cricket Stadium in Khulna after beating second placed BCB North Zone by an innings and 63 runs. Central Zone have won the franchise-based domestic four-day competition twice while North Zone clinched the other edition. Resuming the day on 592 runs for the loss of six wickets in 136 overs, East Zone eventually posted a huge 711 losing eight wickets in 171 overs before declaring their first innings.

Also read: Liton shines bright for East Zone

After Liton Das’ double ton and Afif Hossain’s century, Saifuddin also smashed a hundred, remaining unbeaten on 100 off 174 balls, featuring 11 fours. Central Zone’s Shuvagata Hom bagged three wickets. In their second innings, Central Zone made 196/5 in 38 overs before umpires removed the bails to signal the end of the day’s play. Marshall Ayub scored a quick 75-ball 85, including 14 boundaries and a couple of over boundaries while Shuvagata blasted a 53-ball 64 with half a dozen fours and fives sixers. East Zone’s Abu Jayed took three wickets.

Also read: South Zone bag record third BCL title

Overall, Central Zone managed a 31-run lead after scoring 546 in 125.3 overs their first innings. Liton was adjudged man of the match. Liton finished as the highest run-scorer with 779 runs in 10 innings at an amazing average of 97.37 while South Zone’s Abdur Razzak ended as the highest wicket-taker with 43 scalps in 11 innings at an average of 25. 6TH BCL, ROUND 6, DAY 4 Central Zone 546 & 196/5 in 38 overs (Marshall 85, Shuvagata 64) drew with East Zone 711/8d in 171 overs (Liton 274, Saifuddin 100*)   POINTS TABLE Teams M W L D Pts South 6 1 0 5 65 North 6 2 1 3 62 East 6 0 1 5 52 Central 6 0 1 5 51   ROLL OF HONOUR Year Winner Runners-Up 2013 Central North 2014 South North 2015 South East 2016 Central East 2017 North South 2018 South North   TOP WICKET-TAKERS Player Wkts Inns Ave Razzak (South) 43 11 25 Gazi (East) 29 9 27.68 Jayed (East) 18 8 33.16   TOP RUN-SCORERS Player Runs Inns Ave Liton (East) 779 10 97.37 Tushar (South) 725 9 90.62 Shadman (Central) 500 8 62.5