• Wednesday, Jan 29, 2020
  • Last Update : 12:44 am

100-ball Masters Cricket Carnival starts May 2

  • Published at 07:40 pm April 24th, 2018
100-ball Masters Cricket Carnival starts May 2
The players’ draft of the Walton Masters Cricket Carnival 2018, powered by Scan Cement, was held at the conference room of Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka Tuesday. Five franchises completed their squad formalities during the draft. The teams are – Beximco Dhaka Masters led by Khaled Mahmud Sujon, Amber Chattogram Masters led by Akram Khan, Air Asia Rajshahi Masters led by Khaled Mashud, Raw Nation Khulna Masters led by Faruk Ahmed and Sixers Sylhet Masters led by Naimur Rahman. Former players who played for the national team or Bangladesh “A” side or the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League for at least five years are eligible to take part in the tournament.

Also read: Rajshahi, All Stars declared joint champions in Masters Cricket Carnival

The tournament starts next Wednesday in Cox’s Bazar’s Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium. The event will be played in accordance with the newest format of the game - 100 balls per innings. That means each side will bowl 15 overs in their innings and the remaining over will comprise 10 balls. Recently the England and Wales Cricket Board unveiled a new eight-team domestic tournament, starting in 2020, which will be played over a 100-ball format in a bid to transform the game of cricket. Five teams will face each other in the group stage with the best two sides progressing to the final, scheduled for May 5.

Also read: Gemcon Khulna master of oldies’

This is the third edition of the tournament. Gemcon Khulna emerged as the champion in the first edition while Acme Rajshahi Masters and Expo All Stars were declared joint champion last year. Former captains and BCB directors Sujon, Akram, deputy executive director of Walton, Uday Hakim, sales and marketing director of Heidelberg Cement Group, Syed Abu Abed Mohammad, Sylhet Sixers chairman Shahed Muhith, Air Asia CEO and director Morshedul Alam Chakladar were present among others in the draft. All the matches will be telecast live on Channel i. SQUADS Beximco Dhaka Masters Khaled Mahmud (C), Faisal Hossain Dickens, Mehrab Hossain Opi, Sajal Chowdhury, Talha Jubair, Mohammad Rafiqul Islam, Rashedul Haque Sumon, Morshed Ali Khan Sumon, Imran Parvez, Minhaz Ahmed Shafil, SM Golam Faiyaz, Minhajul Abedin Nannu, Mir Zia Uddin Ahmed, Imran Hamid Partho and Sazzad Ahmed Shipon (manager) Raw Nation Khulna Masters Mohammad Hasanuzzaman Jhoru, Mohammad Selim, Jamal Udiin Ahmed, Niaz Morshed Poltu, Shafiuddin Babu, SK Golam Mostofa, Asadullah Khan, Safaq al Jabir, Naim Afroz Khan, Jewel Hossain Mona, Murad Khan, Hamin Ahmed, Gazi Alamgir, Faruk Ahmed, Habibul Bashar Sumon (manager) and Athar Ali Khan (mentor) Sylhet Sixers Masters Naimur Rahman Durjoy (C) , Hannan Sarkar, Hasibul Hossain Shanto, Zakir Hasan, Shahriar Hossain Biddut, Anisul Hakim Rabbani, Rasheduzzaman Rasel, Saifullah Khan Jem, Yawhid Hossain Shamol, Sanjoy Chakroborty, Mohammad Saiful Islam Khan, Fahim Muntasir Sumit, Tariqul Islam Totam, Sohel Hossain Pappu and Mizanur Rahman Babul (manager) Amber Chattogram Masters Akram Khan (C) , Masudur Rahman Mukul, Ahsanullah Hasan, Mohammad Shahnawaz Kabir Shuvro, Azam Iqbal, Tareq Aziz Khan, Sanwar Hussain, Moballig Jems, Jahurul Haq Khan Rasel, Humayun Kabir, Jahangir Alam, Jobayer Mohammad Istiaq, Mohammad Mahmudul Hasan Rana and Nurul Abedin Nobel (manager) Air Asia Rajshahi Masters Khaled Mashud Pilot (C), Alamgir Kabir, Monjurul Islam Monju, Mohammad Ehsanul Haque Seezan, Enamul Haque Moni, Harunur Rashid Liton, Neeyamur Rashid Rahul, Mohammad Iqbal Hossain, Wasel Uddin Ahmed, Anisur Rahman Sanjay, Ali Arman Rajan, Monirul Islam Taj, Baqi Billah Himel, Imtiaz Ahmed Palash and Narir Ahmed Nasu (manager)